KKR vs RCB scorecard, IPL 2024, Match 36 highlights: KKR survive huge scare to win last-ball thriller

Updated - 21 Apr 2024, 08:01 PM

KKR vs RCB [PC: X]

Kolkata Knight Riders, on Sunday (April 21), beat Royal Challengers Bengaluru by one run in a thriller to register their fifth win in the ongoing IPL 2024. Chasing 223 runs, RCB were bowled out for 221 runs on the final ball of the game.

RCB started on a shaky note as Virat Kohli (18) and Faf du Plessis (7) departed inside first four overs. Rajat Patidar and Will Jacks then scored whirlwind fifties to put RCB in the driver' seat. While Jacks completed his fifty off just 29 balls in the ninth over, Patidar reached his fifty in only 21 balls in the 11th over. 

At the end of the 11th over, RCB were on 137 for 2 with both Jacks and Patidar well set. And just when it looked like that RCB would go on to win the game, Andre Russell turned the game on its head by dismissing both Jacks and Patidar in the 12th over.

RCB kept losing wickets at regular intervals from that position. On the final ball of the 19th over, they suffered a huge blow when Russell dismissed in-form Dinesh Karthik as well. In the final over, RCB needed 21 runs with two wickets in hand.

The match, however, was not done yet as Karn Sharma then hit Mitchell Starc for three sixes in four balls to bring down the equation to three from the last two balls. However, on the fifth ball, Starc dismissed Sharma before Lockie Ferguson was run out while taking the second run on the last ball.

KKR vs RCB: KKR innings

Earlier in the game, KKR finished their innings on 222/6 in 20 overs after RCB skipper Faf du Plessis won the toss and opted to bat first.

Phil Salt gave KKR a flying start by smashing 48 runs from just 14 balls. While Sunil Narine struggled to play in his usual manner at the other end, Salt's whirlwind knock helped KKR score at a good pace in the powerplay. The duo added 56 runs in just 26 balls for the first wicket before Mohammed Siraj dismissed Salt.

In the final over of the powerplay, Yash Dayal struck twice to dismiss Narine and Angkrish Raghuvanshi. At the end of the sixth over, KKR were on 75 for 3. Venkatesh Iyer got the start but could convert it into a big score and departed for 16 runs to leave KKR four down for 97.

Captain Shreyas Iyer and Rinku Singh steadied the ship with a 40-run stand for the fifth wicket. Lockie Ferguson broke the stand in the 14th over by dismissing Rinku for 24. Iyer went on to complete his fifty although he could not stay till the end. He scored 50 runs off 36 balls and was dismissed by Cameron Green in the 18th over.

Andre Russell and Ramandeep Singh then took KKR to a 220-plus total. Russell scored 27 off 20 balls while Ramandeep played a fine cameo of 24 runs from just nine balls.

KKR vs RCB scorecard:





Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) IPL 2024