Lanka Premier League 2022 All Set To Commence From December 6

Published - 15 Oct 2022, 04:44 PM | Updated - 16 Apr 2024, 10:42 AM

Lanka Premiere League
Lanka Premiere League. Pic Credits: Twitter

Lanka Premier League 2022 is scheduled from 6th December to 23rd December. Sri Lanka Cricket has officially confirmed this 3rd edition of LPL and this edition is played in the same window as the previous year. This year’s edition was officially scheduled for August but due to Sri Lanka’s economic crisis, the tournament was postponed.

LPL has been one of the biggest things in Sri Lanka Cricket. Young cricketers like Pathum Nissanka and Maheesh Theekshana have made their names in World Cricket. LPL has taken a big step as their tournament is going to collide with BBL(Big Bash League) which is considered to be one of the biggest tournaments in Franchise Cricket.

Lanka Premiere League Trophy 2022
Lanka Premiere League Trophy 2022. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Same Format for LPL

The tournament is going to be played at Colombo, Jaffna, Kandy, Galle, and Dambulla.5 teams are there in the tournament where every team plays 8 matches at home and away type just like the IPL. There is also a direct match for the final which makes the top two finish critical. It won’t be wrong to say that this format makes every contest vital as having a top-two finish is invaluable as the losing team gets a second shot at the final.

Lanka Premier League
Irfan Pathan in Lanka Premier League. (Photo: Twitter)

Uncertainty over Owners

In the first and second season of the LPL, the fans witnessed a lot of change in the ownership of the team. Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the fixtures, but at the same time, it is expected that once again there would be a shift in the team owners.

Lanka Premiere League
Lanka Premiere League [photo: Twitter]

Jaffna has won both titles so far, the first under Stallions and the second one under Kings. LPL is still in its initial stages at the same time this issue of ownership should be solved as this disturbs the players a lot.

Also Read: Best Sri Lanka Playing XI For ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022


Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2022 Maheesh Theekshana Pathum Nissanka Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) B-Love Kandy