Lanka Premier League 2021
Lanka Premier League 2021 (Credits: Twitter)

The official date for the rescheduled Lanka Premier League is December 2022. Due to the nation’s deepening economic crisis, the third season of the LPL was originally scheduled to begin in August but was postponed last month.

Sponsors believed that scheduling the event for August was not ideal given the crisis. Because of that, the competition was formally postponed in July.

Similar arguments were also advanced as a justification for moving the Asia Cup, scheduled to start on August 27, from Sri Lanka to the UAE.

In order to elaborate on the ongoing SLC Invitational T20 event, Dodanwela was speaking during a briefing that had been organised.

Following the first LPL postponement, the four-team competition was organised to help Sri Lanka’s selectors decide on the team for the T20 World Cup in Australia, which will begin in October 2022.

Lanka Premier League
Irfan Pathan in Lanka Premier League. (Photo: Twitter)

LPL Will Clash With Sri Lanka’s International Schedule

A possible LPL re-draft has not yet been decided. According to reports, the tournament’s organisers are debating between two options: either having a new draft or continuing with as many of the available players as feasible while just the positions occupied by any unavailable foreign players are being re-drafted.

The tournament will probably be wedged between a home Test series against the West Indies in November and an away ODI series against India in December-January, according to Sri Lanka’s Future Tours Program.

Lanka Premier League (LPL),
Lanka Premier League (LPL).

“It’s my pleasure to announce that the LPL will be held from 6th to 23rd December,” LPL tournament organiser Samantha Dodanwela told the media.

A five-team competition called the LPL has been going on since 2020. Galle Gladiators finished as runners-up in each of the two previous seasons, while Jaffna Kings, originally the Stallions, won both. The other three teams are Colombo Stars, Kandy Falcons, and Dambulla Giants, each of which has seen ownership changes since the league’s first season.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022 Schedule, India Squad, Teams, Format, Tickets, Match List, Squad, Matches, Fixtures, Groups, Live Telecast In India, Live Streaming In India