Lasith Malinga Joins Sri Lanka National Team As Bowling Strategy Coach

Lasith Malinga, Sri Lankan Bowler
Lasith Malinga (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga has begun his coaching career with the national side after joining the team as a bowling strategy coach ahead of the team’s full-fledged series against Australia at home.

Malinga had temporarily joined the Lankan team in a similar capacity when they toured Australia for a 5-match T20I series this February which Sri Lanka lost by a 1-4 margin.

Malinga, during the tour, will support Sri Lanka’s bowlers, providing tactical insight and technical expertise to help the on-field execution of strategic plans.”

Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga. (Photo: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket is confident that Malinga’s vast experience and renowned death-bowling expertise, especially in the T20 format, will help the team immensely going into this all-important series,” a statement from SLC read.

For the T20I series, the Lankan board has named an 18-man squad with Dasun Shanaka set to lead the way. They have named a strong spin lineup which will be led by the 23-year-old Wanindu Hasaranga, fresh off his exploits in the IPL 2022 season.

SLC called up the young duo of Nuwanidu Fernando, the top-order batter, and Matheesha Pathirana, the right-arm pacer, who have a bright future ahead considering the immense talent they possess.

Wanindu Hasaranga, T20 World Cup 2021
Wanindu Hasaranga (Image Credit: Twitter)

The first T20I will be played on June 07th at the R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, with the second T20I to be played the next day, June 8th. The final match will then be played on June 11th at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele.

Sri Lanka squad for T20I series against Australia:

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana,Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan.

Also Read – ENG vs NZ: Wearing This Shirt On Behalf Of Me And England Team To Show Support To Him – Ben Stokes On Donning Graham Thorpe’s Jersey No.564

Related Posts