Kevin Pietersen
Kevin Pietersen (Image Credit: Twitter)

Kevin Pietersen, Daren Sammy and Jonty Rhodes will be part of the World Giants team that will play in the Legends League Cricket.

Legends League Cricket (LLC) is a professional tournament for retired international cricketers. The league will be played amongst three teams Indian team (India Maharajas), the Asia team (Asia Lions) and the Rest of the World (World Giants).

LLC on Monday announced that World Giants will be the name of the team to represent the Rest of the World Team.

World Giants team also include other prominent players like Daniel Vettori, Brett Lee, Imran Tahir, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Corey Anderson, Monty Panesar, Brad Haddin, Kevin O’Brien, and Brendan Taylor.

Daren Sammy
Daren Sammy (Image Credit: Twitter)

World Giants will be the team to beat: Ravi Shastri

Former India men’s team coach Ravi Shastri, who is the Commissioner of Legends League Cricket said that the World Giants team cannot be better than this.

“Truly living up to their names, World Giants will be the team to beat in the championship. It can’t get better than this. When you see top names from the World of Cricket coming together to take on the battle against Asia and India, it would be a treat for the Cricket fans,” Shastri stated.

Ravi Shastri
Ravi Shastri (Image Credit: Getty)

“The League will be played from January 20, 2022, at the Oman cricket stadium in Muscat between three power-packed teams. The other two teams would be representing Asia and India,” he added.

Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh to play for India Maharajas

The India Maharajas consists of Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Subramaniam Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia, Mohammad Kaif and Stuart Binny.

Meanwhile, Asia Lions mostly includes players from Sri Lanka and Pakistan: Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, Asghar Afghan and Kamran Akmal.

Coaches and captains of all teams would be announced soon along with fixture and dates of the tournament.

Also Read: Sachin Tendulkar Not Participating In Legends League Cricket, Confirms SRT Sports Management