Lungi Ngidi
Lungi Ngidi. Image-AP

South African pacer Lungi Ngidi has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI series against the Netherlands after testing positive for the COVID-19 virus. This was confirmed by Cricket South Africa (CSA) on November 24 lending a huge blow to the Proteas ahead of the home series.

The South African team is already resting quite a few first-choice players of this series and now the absence of Lungi Ngidi will further affect their ability to be competitive against a potent associate cricketing nation. The three ODIs against the Netherlands are a part of the ICC ODI World Cup Super League, where the Netherlands are placed at the bottom, while the Proteas are situated ninth.

Cricket South Africa has rested the likes of Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, Kagiso Rabada, and Anrich Nortje for the three-match ODI series with Keshav Maharaj being named as captain.

Junior Dala
Junior Dala has been named Lungi Ngidi’s replacement (Photo: Twitter)

Lizaad Williams Also Ruled Out Of The Netherlands ODI Series; Junior Dala Named Replacement

Lungi Ngidi has been replaced in the South African squad by 31-year-old Junior Dala.

However, Ngidi missing out is not the only blow to the Proteas team, as they will also miss out on the services of pacer Lizaad Williams, as he has an intercostal muscle strain, toning their second-string squad further down. Both Ngidi and Williams will be under medical supervision with their progress assessed periodically before their comeback.

Lizaad Williams. Photo- Twitter
Lizaad Williams. Photo- Twitter

Ngidi last played in a bilateral series for South Africa in July against Ireland. Despite signing a deal with the Welsh Fire, he pulled out of the inaugural edition of the Hundred and later pulled out of the Sri Lanka series citing personal reasons.

As for the upcoming series, Khaya Zondo, Daryn Dupavillon, and Sisanda Magala have been recalled and wicketkeeper-batter Ryan Rickelton is in line to make his debut alongside Zubayr Hamza. This series will also see the return of Wayne Parnell, who came back into South Africa cricket after the Kolpak deal ended with England cricket.

Wayne Parnell. Photo- Twitter
Wayne Parnell. Photo- Twitter

South Africa squad for Netherlands ODIs: Keshav Maharaj (c), Daryn Dupavillon, Zubayr Hamza, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Junior Dala, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kyle Verreynne (wk), Khaya Zondo.

Also Read: Ajinkya Rahane Confirms Shreyas Iyer Will Make Test Debut vs New Zealand In 1st Test At Kanpur