MCG To Host ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Final; Tournament To Start On October 16

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the final of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 on November 13, as confirmed by ICC.

Australia, who were crowned as the champions of the recently concluded ICC T20 World Cup 2021, will be hosting the next edition of the T20 World Cup. 

Seven Australian cities to stage T20 World Cup 2022 matches, MCG to host final

Seven cities across the Oceania nation will conduct 45 matches of the showpiece event next year. The tournament will commence on October 16, with the final to be played on November 13 in Melbourne.

Australia with their maiden T20 World Cup. Image-Twitter

The first semi-final will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on November 9, followed by the second semi-final at the Adelaide Oval on November 10. 

Looking forward to seeing the return of ICC events to Australia: Chris Tetley

This will be the first time Australia will host a Men’s ICC event since the 2015 World Cup, which they jointly hosted with Trans-Tasman neighbours New Zealand. The 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup was hosted by Australia. 

ICC’s Head of Events, Chris Tetley, said that they are looking forward to see the next T20 World Cup in Australia.

We are looking forward to seeing the return of ICC events to Australia and are delighted to announce the seven host cities for the ICC Men’s T20 WC 2022,” Tetley said.

Chris Tetley
Chris Tetley. Credits: ICC

Following the success of the ICC Women’s T20 WC in 2020 and a two-year postponement, our sights are now firmly set on planning for the 2022 event in collaboration with the LOC. With 12 teams already confirmed in the line-up, we eagerly await the culmination of the qualification process to see which other teams will join them,” he added.

Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney will be the seven cities to conduct matches of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, England, India, Afghanistan, South Africa, Bangladesh are the eight teams in the Super 12 stage for the showpiece event.

Meanwhile, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Scotland and Namibia will play in the qualifiers round, with four other teams yet to be named.

Also Read: A Little Disgusting Way Of Celebrating – Shoaib Akhtar On Australian Players Drinking Beer From Shoes After T20 World Cup 2021 Victory