Former Pakistani pacer, Mohammad Amir opens up about his plans against Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in the famous 2017 Champions Trophy final at the Kennington Oval. India was set a target of 339- which Pakistan achieved on the back of a hundred from the opener, Fakhar Zaman, who was given a life by Jasprit Bumrah after dismissing him off a no-ball.
The Indian top three comprising of Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, and Virat Kohli was the engine of the team, which Mohammad Amir single-handedly blew off.
He dismissed Rohit Sharma for a duck in the very first over of the chase. Speaking to Kamran Akmal on the wicket-keeper’s YouTube channel, Amir reveals that he knew Sharma’s vulnerability against in-swingers from left-arm pacers, hence after bowling a couple of out-swingers he brought one in which rubbed on his pads and the Indian opener was adjudged lbw by the umpire.
“I knew Sharma struggles against in-swing. So, my plan was that I will not bring in the first two balls. I will make him feel that the ball is not swinging and will take the ball away with the angle. If you see the first two balls, I have just taken them away with the angle. The third ball I brought it in. So, that was the plan which worked,” Mohammad Amir said in the YouTube video.
Kohli can finish the match in 40-45 overs: Mohammad Amir
After Rohit’s dismissal, in walked skipper Virat Kohli, who is regarded as the best chaser in ODI cricket. Amir foxed Kohli by nicking him to the slips, but Azhar Ali fumbled the chance- realizing that the right-hander could complete the chase after been handing a reprieve.
“And then Kohli came and when his catch was dropped, I remembered about Fakhar because he had got out to a no-ball and then scored a century. And I had not seen such a batting wicket at the Oval. So, while going to my run-up I was thinking that if Kohli stands there now, he will finish the match in 40-45 overs,” he continued.
However, the left-arm seamer kept himself composed while bowling the next delivery to which Kohli once again couldn’t middle it. A leading-edge flew towards Shadab Khan at the point and this time the fielder took the catch safely. Amir dismissed Shikhar Dhawan as well to sent back India’s daunting trinity as Pakistan defeated their arch-rivals by a massive 180 runs.
“When Kohli came to bat, I bowled him an in-swinger first and he was beaten. After that I had decided, I will not bring the ball into him. Let him keep thinking that I will bring the ball in. The first one went to slip as it went out with the angle. The second one also I had thought I will bowl him the same but a little up and let him drive and wanted to take a chance for a slip catch.
“But Virat Kohli was already looking to play me towards the on-side. His body had already turned towards the on-side. But my ball was going away with the angle and I am thankful Shadab took a brilliant catch as it was a tough one,” the 28-year-old explained.