MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir during IPL 2012 final
MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir during IPL 2012 final (Image Credit: Twitter)
Prev1 of 9

IPL 2012 was the 5th edition of the Indian Premier League. In IPL 2011, 10 teams were part of the tournament as two new teams joined the league. However, Kochi Tuskers Kerala was terminated by BCCI ahead of IPL 2012 due to which only 9 teams participated in the 2012 edition. Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, and Pune Warriors India were the 9 teams that took part in the tournament. Chennai Super Kings were the defending champions of the season.

After the group stage, Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders bagged the 1st and 2nd spot respectively in the points table. Mumbai Indians got the 3rd spot while Chennai Super Kings bagged the 4th spot. These 4 teams qualified for playoffs. Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings battled against each other in the final where the former emerged winner. As a result, KKR won their first title in IPL 2012. A total of 76 T20 matches were played among 9 teams in the tournament. 22,453 runs were scored by all 9 teams during the tournament. Here we look at most runs scored by a team in IPL 2012.

Most Runs Scored By A Team In IPL 2012

9. Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers
Deccan Chargers (Image Credit: Twitter)

Deccan Chargers scored the least runs in IPL 2012 with 2312 runs. Deccan Chargers were led by Kumar Sangakkara. The franchise played 16 matches in the season, out of which they won 4 and lost 11. One match ended with no result. Since they finished on the 8th spot in the points table after the group stage, they could not qualify for the playoffs. Shikhar Dhawan was the team’s highest run-scorer with 569 runs in 15 matches. He was also the 3rd highest run-scorer of the tournament.

Prev1 of 9