Mujeeb Ur Rahman resigns with Brisbane Heat. Photo- Twitter
Mujeeb Ur Rahman resigns with Brisbane Heat. Photo- Twitter

Afghanistan’s ace spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman has returned to the Brisbane Heat franchise for his fourth stint in the upcoming Big Bash League (BBL) season. He has been a huge contributor to Heat’s success over the years with 29 wickets in 26 matches at an economy rate of just 6.13.

The 2021-22 BBL season will be the 11th season of the popular T20 League and is scheduled to run from 5 December 2021 to 28 January 2022. Sydney Sixers are the defending champions. The BBL will begin with the opening match between Sydney Sixers and Melbourne Stars.

Mujeeb signing with the Heat is big news for the franchise as despite COVID-19 restrictions preventing Afghanistan from playing T20 Internationals for much of the year, Mujeeb is still ranked in the top five of the ICC’s T20 player rankings.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman resigns with Brisbane Heat. Photo- Twitter
Mujeeb Ur Rahman resigns with Brisbane Heat. Photo- Twitter

Mujeeb, who turns 21 in March next year, said he was delighted to sign up with the Heat and was quoted on Heat’s website, saying: “I’m very pleased to have re-signed for Brisbane Heat for my fourth season with them. I’m very happy there, they’re great guys. The fans always support me and the team so I hope we can win the Big Bash for them.”

Mujeeb will play under a different chain of command this season with Wade Seccombe taking over as coach from Darren Lehmann, although the former coach will remain on as an assistant.

It’s Exciting For Us To Have Mujeeb Ur Rahman In The Line-Up Again: Heat’s Coach Wade Seccombe

Brisbane Heat’s new coach Wade Seccombe was eager and happy to have Mujeeb back in the team and mentioned that Darren Lehmann had good words for the Afghan spinner given that he played for the Northern Superchargers in the Hundred this year.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman Signs With Brisbane Heat For Fourth BBL Stint
Mujeeb Ur Rahman. (Credits: Twitter)

“He was in the Northern Superchargers team that Darren Lehmann was coaching in The Hundred (in England) earlier this month, and Darren has reported back to us that he keeps getting better each time he sees him. It’s exciting for us to have him in the line-up again. It makes a big difference to how we match-up with other teams, and his skills and controls enable other players in our squad to come to the fore as well,” Seccombe said.

Brisbane Heat squad: Chris Lynn, Tom Banton (England), Xavier Bartlett, Sam Heazlett, Jimmy Peirson, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Matt Willans, Tom Cooper, Michael Neser, Marnus Labuschagne, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afghanistan)

Also Read: IPL 2022: Base Price For New Teams Kept At INR 2000 Cr, BCCI Expects INR 5000 Cr Windfall – Reports