Mushfiqur Rahim Returns As Bangladesh Announce Squad For New Zealand T20Is
Mushfiqur Rahim Returns As Bangladesh Announce Squad For New Zealand T20Is

Mushfiqur Rahim returns to the Bangladesh side for the upcoming 5-match home T20I series against New Zealand after missing the Australia series due to quarantine protocols. Mushfiqur Rahim had left the bio-bubble from Bangladesh’s tour to Zimbabwe and hence couldn’t be transferred to the bubble for the series against Australia.

However, despite missing one of their key batsmen, the Mahmudullah’s side thumped a depleted Australia team 4-1 to claim their first-ever series win over Australia.

The 5 T20Is will be played from September 1 to 10. New Zealand will be led by Tom Latham in the absence of Kane Williamson, who with a few other players will depart to the UAE for the second leg of the IPL 2021. After that, the Black Caps will travel to Pakistan three ODIs and five T20Is.

Mushfiqur Rahim (Twitter)
Mushfiqur Rahim (Twitter)

Other players who return for Bangladesh are Liton Das and Aminul Islam. Both the players had opted out of the Australia series for family reasons.

While Bangladesh welcome back the experienced duo of Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das, they would still be missing senior opener Tamim Iqbal. The left-handed batsman is recovering from a knee injury that has put him out of competitive cricket for at least two months in July. The star batter is likely to return directly in the T20 World Cup.

Leg-spinning all-rounder Aminul Islam Biplob has been included in the squad as Mohammad Mithun has been dropped. Mithun was in the squad against Australia but didn’t get a chance to play.

Tom Latham
Tom Latham will captain New Zealand against Bangladesh. (Image Credit: Getty)

Bangladesh squad to host New Zealand:

Mahmudullah (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Kumer Das, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Afif Hossain, Naim Sheikh, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shaif Uddin, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Nasum Ahmed

New Zealand squad to tour Bangladesh and Pakistan:

Tom Latham (capt, wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Also Read: When You Look Towards Mohammed Siraj, You Feel Test Format Is Made For Him: Aakash Chopra