Neither Virat Kohli, Nor Rohit Sharma!! Players Who Can Win the T20I Cricketer Of The Year Award

Published - 27 Dec 2023, 06:25 PM | Updated - 27 Dec 2023, 06:27 PM

Suryakumar Yadav in T20Is
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Credit: Twitter)

T20I format is in focus due to the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024 next year. The tournament will take place in the West Indies and the US. All the top international teams are gearing up for the tournament to form a strong squad.

In 2023, the focus was restricted to ODI cricket due to ODI World Cup. Many top teams played only a handful of T20I games. However, some exciting matches still enthralled viewers to a great extent.

There were some standout performers in the shortest format this year. They can grab the T20I Cricketer of the Year award in 2023. Here we take a look at 5 such players.

5 Players Who Can Win the T20I Cricketer Of The Year Award

5. Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Credit: Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadav is the first player who can win the T20I Player of the Year award. The Indian batter struggled to bat in ODIs this year but his T20I performances were at the top.

With 733 runs across 18 games, the right-handed batsman was the leading run-getter for India this year. He also shattered 2 tons and 5 half-centuries in the shortest format, batting at a stunning strike rate of 155+.

Also Read: Not Rohit Sharma Or Jasprit Bumrah!! Players Who Can Win the ODI Cricketer Of The Year Award

4. Mark Chapman

Mark Chapman
Mark Chapman (Credits: Getty Images)

Mark Chapman was another batter who impressed with his batting show in 2023. In 19 games, the left-handed batsman mustered 575 runs at a superb average of 47+.

He also stormed 1 ton and 4 fifties in the shortest format. The left-handed batsman finished as the leading run-getter for New Zealand in 2023. He held a strike rate of 143+ while batting.

3. Phil Salt

Phil Salt
Phil Salt (Credits: Twitter)

England batsman Phil Salt played just 8 T20I games this year. however, he shattered 2 tons across 8 encounters to showcase his might in the shortest format. The right-handed batsman mustered 394 runs in 8 games at a strike rate of 169+. The England batter had an awesome batting average of 56+.

Also Read: No Place For Virat Kohli And KL Rahul!! Test Team Of The Year 2023

2. Arshdeep Singh

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh (Credits: Twitter)

Among bowlers, Arshdeep Singh can win the T20I Player of the Year award. The left-arm pacer was a crucial member of the Indian team this year. In 21 games, he grabbed 26 wickets at an average of 24.46 and an economy of 9.26.

He also defended 10 runs off the last over in the final T20I game against Australia last month, which helped India to grab a 4-1 victory in the series. Arshdeep Singh was a consistent performer throughout 2023 in the shortest format for Team India.

Also Read: 5 Indian Cricketers, Only 1 Pakistan Player!! T20I Team Of The Year 2023

1. Sikandar Raza

Sikandar Raza
Sikandar Raza (Credits: Twitter)

If we talk about all-rounders, Zimbabwe veteran Sikandar Raza was an outstanding player in 2023 in the shortest format. The right-handed batsman shattered 515 runs in 12 games this year at an average of 51.50.

He slammed half-centuries in 6 games and held a strike rate of 150+. Raza also starred with the ball. The left-arm spinner hunted 17 scalps across 12 matches with a four-wicket haul in one match.


Arshdeep Singh ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Mark Chapman Phil Salt Sikandar Raza Suryakumar Yadav