New Zealand Announce 13-Member Squad For Bangladesh ODIs; Tom Latham To Lead In Absence Of Injured Kane Williamson

New Zealand Announce 13-Member Squad For Bangladesh ODIs; Tom Latham To Lead In Absence Of Injured Kane Williamson

Tom Latham
Tom Latham. Image- NZ Cricket

Kane Williamson will miss the upcoming 3-match ODI series against Bangladesh as, on Wednesday, New Zealand Cricket announced their 13-man squad. Williamson is ruled out of the series owing to an elbow injury; wicket-keeper batsman, Tom Latham will lead the side in the ODI series which commences on March 20th in Dunedin and will be followed by a 3-match T20I series.

New Zealand hasn’t played an ODI for a year – their last 50-over game was on March 13, 2020, against Australia before cricket came to halt due to the pandemic.

Also pacer Lockie Ferguson and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme continue to be unavailable due to their respective injuries. Ish Sodhi, the Man of the Series in the T20Is against Australia, does not find a place. On the other hand, opener Martin Guptill has passed the fitness test and remains in the ODI squad.

New Zealand
New Zealand team. Image- AP/Photosport: Andrew Cornaga

New Zealand give maiden ODI call-up to 3 players

Devon Conway, Will Young, and Daryl Mitchell have been given their maiden call-up to the ODI side. Conway, who has had a thunderous start to his T20I career, stands a chance to play in place of Kane Williamson.

Young scored two one-day hundreds for New Zealand XI against Australia XI in 2019 before sustaining a shoulder injury which put him out for a long time. Mitchell, the impressive all-rounder who recently scored a Test century, will compete with the likes of James Neesham.

Devon Conway
Devon Conway (Image Credit: Twitter)

The pace attack of Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, and Kyle Jamieson is formidable as New Zealand has had in recent years; Mitchell Santner is the lone spinner in the squad.

“It’s certainly been a while since we’ve played ODI cricket, with just four games since the 2019 Cricket World Cup campaign. We’re now in a new World Cup cycle and our attention has turned to building towards the 2023 tournament in India,” selector Gavin Larsen said.

“This series is a great opportunity to begin laying those foundations and formulating the type of team and game-plan we think can continue our impressive run in this format. Devon, Will and Daryl are quality players and have enjoyed impressive seasons so far, and we’re looking forward to giving them further opportunities to develop their game at this level. Whilst it’s disappointing to lose a player of Kane’s class, Tom has proven experience in taking the reins and I know he’s excited to lead the side,” he added.

New Zealand ODI squad: Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham (c) (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young

Also Read: Too Many 36’s – Ravi Shastri Highlights The Moments Associated With Number 36 In Indian Cricket