New Zealand Cricket Team, ICC World Test Championship Final
New Zealand were crowned as the first ever ICC World Test Champions. (Photo: Twitter)

New Zealand national cricket team scripted history by becoming the first team to win the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship in June. Even as it kept raining in Southampton for the best part of the game, New Zealand delivered a complete performance across facets and handled pressure well to overcome India by eight wickets. The Black Caps have begun their nationwide tour with the mace.

Also Read: Indian Skipper Virat Kohli Delivers A Special Message For The Silver-Medalist Weightlifter Mirabai Chanu

Paceman Kyle Jamieson’s impact was the most in the game as he ended up with seven wickets in the match, including dismissing Virat Kohli twice. New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl first on the second day after the entire day one washed out due to persistent rains. Even though India stitched a 62-run opening stand, the Kiwi bowlers pulled it back and dismissed their opposition for 217.

Virat Kohli and Kyle Jamieson
Virat Kohli and Kyle Jamieson (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Kiwis took a handy 32-run lead after India bowled them out for 249. The final went into the reserve sixth day as Virat Kohli’s men had the perfect batting conditions on their hands. Nevertheless, India could not make full use of it. Rishabh Pant top-scored with 41 as India managed only 170, setting the Black Caps 139 to win. Jamieson, who took a fifer in the first innings, ended with two more scalps. Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson stitched a 96-run stand to script a win by eight wickets.

Below is the photo posted by the Black Caps’ official Twitter handle of New Zealand starting their mace tour: