New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2021, 2nd ODI: New Zealand Win Series After Tom Latham And Devon Conway's Strong Chasing

New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2021, 2nd ODI: New Zealand Win Series After Tom Latham And Devon Conway’s Strong Chasing

New Zealand
New Zealand cricketers (Image Credit: ICC Twitter)

The hosts New Zealand have secured the three-match ODI series against the visitors Bangladesh after winning the second game of this series by 5 wickets and taking the series lead by 2-0.

After New Zealand stand-in skipper Tom Latham chose to bowl first, the visitors scored 271/6 (50 overs) while the hosts chased down the target in 48.2 overs after losing five wickets.

New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2021, 2nd ODI

2nd innings (New Zealand): Centurion Tom Latham guided the hosts to the victory

Mustafizur Rahman provided the early breakthrough by dismissing the New Zealand opener Martin Guptill for 20 runs as the Bangladesh left-arm pacer successfully caught and bowled the Blackcaps opening batsman. Mehedi Hasan then took the wicket of another opener Henry Nicholls (13).

Bangladesh, New Zealand, 2nd ODI
Bangladesh players (Image Credit: ICC Twitter)

Just after the first powerplay, Mehedi Hasan took picked up another wicket as he bowled Will Young (1) while the hosts were struggling on 53/3. It was the time when the visitors got the sense to finally claim their first-ever international victory against the hosts New Zealand but the next batsmen destroyed their hopes.

Devon Conway and captain Tom Latham handled the next situation and built up the crucial 113 runs partnership for the fourth wicket. Conway reached the 50 run mark in 73 balls and scored 72 off 93 balls (7 fours) before Tamim ran him out in the 34th over through a direct hit.

But the skipper Latham continued his impressive batting who completed his half-century (64 balls) in the 35th over of that innings. Then Bangladesh fielders dropped two catches of Latham and one catch of Jimmy Neesham which ultimately hurt the visitors.

Bangladesh, New Zealand, 2nd ODI, Tom Latham
Tom Latham (Image Credit: ICC Twitter)

Latham and Neesham set up the 76 runs partnership for the fifth wicket and it helped the hosts to take a full grip in the chasing. Mustafizur Rahman dismissed Neesham for 30 runs but Latham only left the ground after the hosts’ victory. New Zealand captain completed his century in 101 balls and scored 110 not out off 108 balls (10 fours) as the hosts reached the target with 10 balls still remaining.

Mahedi Hasan (2/42) and Mustafizur Rahman (2/62) got two wickets each in that innings.

1st innings (Bangladesh): Tamim Iqbal provided a strong start and Mohammad Mithun set up the strong finish

Opener Liton Das lost his wicket in the second over as Matt Henry took his wicket for a duck. But then captain and another opener Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar built up the slow but steady partnership just like according to their earlier plans which the Bangladesh captain revealed during the toss.

For the second wicket, they had an 81-run partnership. But Sarkar (32 runs) was finally stumped out on a wide-ball in the 21st over. Soon after that wicket, Tamim completed his fifty. Tamim and Mushfiqur Rahim built up the 48 runs partnership for the third wicket before James Neesham ran out Tamim by successfully kicking the ball towards the stump. Before losing his wicket, the Bangladesh captain scored 78 runs off 108 balls (11 fours).

Bangladesh, New Zealand, 2nd ODI
Image Credit: ICC Twitter

Mushfiqur Rahim and Mohammad Mithun had 51 runs partnership for the fourth wicket. But once again in the crucial 41st over, Rahim lost his wicket for 34 runs as Mitchell Santner got his second wicket.

In the death overs, Mithun batted impressively and his batting was the main reason why Bangladesh managed the 270+ total in the first innings. The visitors added 88 runs in the final 10 overs while Mithun scored 73 not out off 57 balls with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Mitchell Santner was the only Blackcaps bowler to take two wickets in that innings as his bowling figures were 10-0-51-2. Also, Trent Boult (1/49), Matt Henry (1/48) and Kyle Jamieson (1/36) got one wicket each.

Brief Scores: Bangladesh – 271/6 in 50 overs (Tamim Iqbal 78, Mohammad Mithun 73*; Mitchell Santner 2/51)

New Zealand – 275/5 in 48.2 overs (Tom Latham 110*, Devon Conway 72; Mahedi Hasan 2/42)

Result – New Zealand won by 5 wickets