Virender Sehwag -Gautam Gambhir
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Last Update on: June 3rd, 2023 at 04:49 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag has issued a statement expressing his unhappiness with the Indian cricket team’s performance in the 2007 ODI World Cup.

According to the comment, he believes that the team that represented India in that event was one of the greatest in the world at the time. However, the team underperformed and did not advance beyond the tournament’s group rounds.

ICC World Test Championship Final | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 

India will host the ODI World Cup in October-November, giving Team India two significant chances to win an ICC trophy this year. The World Test Championship final (against Australia) will take place later this month.

Also Read: IPL 2023: “All Of Them Give Me A Lot Of Freedom” – Yuzvendra Chahal On Playing For Different Captains

Under Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s leadership, India last won the World Cup in 2011. Since then, the team has lost consecutive semi-final contests in 2015 and 2019. While the team’s victory in 2011 remains its sole triumph, India has been very consistent in the fifty-over World Cups since the beginning of the decade and has advanced to the knockout stages in all but one of the tournaments.

Read More  India Playing 11 vs Australia – 3rd ODI, 2023

ICC World Test Championship Final | WTC Final 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023 

The Indian team’s performance at the 2007 World Cup was somewhat forgettable as it was eliminated in the group stage after losses to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Former India opener Virender Sehwag has recently brought up India’s terrible World Cup campaign, which was met with intense public outrage at home. The supporters even went so far as to set Indian players’ effigies on fire in protest of their subpar performances.

Also Read: ENG vs IRE: Joe Root Becomes Second Englishman To Join Elusive 11,000 Test Runs Club

“Our team in 2007 was the best team in the world” – Virender Sehwag

Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag remarked that the Indian team in the 2007 edition was the “best” in the world at the time, which is why the final defeat in 2003 hurt more. In 2007, Rahul Dravid led the team, which included many Indian cricket legends like Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, and Anil Kumble.

“2007 hurt more. Our team in 2007 was the best team in the world at the time. On paper, you won’t find a better team than that, even before or after. In 2003, we lost the final, in 2011, we won, but we didn’t have such big names ever. We lost 2 matches, won 1 and that too against Bermuda,” Virender Sehwag told Gaurav Kapur on Breakfast with Champions.

Read More  Australia Playing 11 For ICC World Cup 2023

“Everyone thought we would reach the next round. We had a 2-day break after the league stage. We lost, we didn’t have tickets. We had to stay two days extra in Trinidad and Tobago without any practice. In those two days, I didn’t ask for room service or housekeeping, I didn’t even step out of the room. With the help of a relative in the US, I arranged for Prison Break and finished three seasons of the show during that time,” Virender Sehwag added.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship Final: “I Thought The Team Was Good Enough To Win An ICC Trophy” – Ravi Shastri’s Daring Take On The WTC Final

Most of the 2007 team members, including Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan, and Harbhajan Singh, experienced their first taste of success in the 2011 edition when India won the largest award in cricket on home soil.

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah