Pakistan Cricket Team

Last Update on: August 11th, 2021 at 08:35 pm

Pakistan has named a 19-member squad for the two-match Test series against the West Indies which also kicks off their ICC World Test Championship campaign.

Both Tests will be played at Sabina Park, Jamaica, the first of which will start on Thursday.

Pakistan clinched a severely rain-affected T20I series 1-0 and the Babar Azam-led unit will be looking to do an encore of their 2017 triumph in the Caribbean islands and claim 24 crucial WTC points.

Pakistan vs West Indies
Pakistan Cricket Team [Image-Twitter]
The squad boasts of largely familiar names with Imran Butt, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fawad Alam, and Mohammad Rizwan forming the top-6.

Faheem Ashraf and Hasan Ali are likely to take up the all-rounder’s spot while Mohammad Abbas and Shaheen Shah Afridi will lead the pace bowling department. Naseem Shah has also been picked in the squad.

Yasir Shah is the lead spinner in the squad while Nauman Ali has been picked as his partner as has been leg-spinner, Zahid Mahmood.

Rookie batter Abdullah Shafiq, Saud Shakeel have also been selected in the 19-men squad while Sarfaraz Ahmed is the backup keeper.

Also Read- Mohammad Kaif Feels Bhuvneshwar Kumar Needs To Play First-Class Matches To Attain Fitness

Pakistan’s 19-men squad for West Indies Tests:

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain) (wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Imran Butt, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Yasir Shah, and Zahid Mahmood

Read More  IND vs NED Head To Head Records In ODIs-ICC World Cup 2023 Warm Up Match

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.