Pakistan. (Photo: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the national team squad for the upcoming T20I series against the Bangladesh side which will be held after the ongoing T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE. The 3-match T20Is series will be accompanied by a two-match Test series as well, all of which is to be played in Bangladesh.

Pakistan qualified for the semi-finals of the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2021 as the only undefeated side, having won all their five Super 12s Group 2 matches, including a maiden win over archrivals India in a World Cup game in 29 years. They defeated the Men in Blue by a thumping 10 wickets with captain Babar Azam and keeper-opener Mohammad Rizwan slamming unbeaten half-centuries.

The Men in Green will now face Australia in the second semi-final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on November 11 in Dubai.

Image Source: Twitter

Mohammad Hafeez Not To Play In Bangladesh T20I Series

Pakistan cricket selectors have named an 18-player squad for the three T20Is against Bangladesh, which will be played in Dhaka on 19, 20, and 22 November. The only change in the side that has qualified for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 semifinals is that Mohammad Hafeez has opted out.

Pakistan batsman Mohammad Hafeez
Pakistan batsman Mohammad Hafeez (Credits: Getty)

After discussions with Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim, Hafeez, 41, decided not to travel to Bangladesh, and allow youngsters to get opportunities to perform and gain international experience and exposure. In his place, an in-form Iftikhar Ahmed has been added to the middle-order that also includes Haider Ali and Khushdil Shah.

Pakistan is also scheduled to play two Test matches against Bangladesh on the tour as well, which will be held from 26-30 November and 4-8 December in Chittagong and Dhaka respectively, and the squad for the same will be announced in due course.

Iftikhar Ahmed. Photo- Twitter
Iftikhar Ahmed. Photo- Twitter

Also, the Pakistan Cricket Board has retained the same team management that is present in the United Arab Emirates, however, batting consultant Matthew Hayden will not be a part of the management due to prior commitments.

Pakistan T20I squad for Bangladesh series:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shoaib Malik, Usman Qadir

Also Read: IPL Contract Isn’t Far Away For Najibullah Zadran, Asserts Virender Sehwag