PBKS vs CSK scorecard, IPL 2024, Match 53 highlights: CSK end five-match losing streak against PBKS with clinical win

Published - 05 May 2024, 07:15 PM | Updated - 08 May 2024, 02:06 PM


Chennai Super Kings, on Sunday (May 5), beat Punjab Kings by 28 runs to get back to winning ways in IPL 2024. After scoring 167/9, CSK restricted PBKS to 139/9 at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala to end their five-match losing streak against the Punjab-based outfit.

Tushar Deshpande gave CSK a brilliant start with the ball by dismissing Jonny Bairstow (7) and Rilee Rossouw (0) in the second over. Prabhsimran Singh and Shashank Singh then steadied the ship with a 53-run stand. However, once the partnership was broken, the floodgates opened as PBKS suffered an inexplicable collapse.

Mitchell Santner broke the stand by dismissing Shashank for 27 runs in the eighth over to reduce PBKS to 62 for 3. Six runs later, Ravindra Jadeja sent back Prabhsimran for 30. The likes of Jitesh Sharma (0), Sam Curran (7), and Ashutosh Sharma failed to get going with the bat as PBKS found themselves reeling at 78 for 7 from 62 for 2.

They lost the wicket of Harshal Patel as well before reaching the 100-run mark. Useful contributions from the lower-order players then helped PBKS finish their innings on a respectable 139/9. For CSK, Jadeja starred with the ball, taking three wickets while Deshpande and Simarjeet Singh picked up two.

PBKS vs CSK: CSK innings

Earlier in the game, Harshal Patel and Rahul Chahar's three-wicket hauls helped PBKS restrict CSK to 167/9 in 20 overs after their skipper Sam Curran won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Ravindra Jadeja top-scored for CSK, scoring 43 while captain Ruturaj Gaikwad (32) and Daryl Mitchell (30) also played crucial knocks. Ajinkya Rahane's poor run at the top of the order continued as Arshdeep Singh dismissed him for nine in the second over.

Gaikwad and Moeen then steadied the ship with a 57-run stand before the former's opened triggered a mini-collapse. Chahar broke the stand by dismissing Gaikwad in the eighth over. On the very next ball, he dismissed the in-form Shivam Dube for a duck. In the next over, Harshal dismissed well-set Mitchell to reduce CSK to 75 for 4.

Moeen Ali and Jadeja then took the score past the 100-run mark but could not bat their team to a strong position. Moeen departed after scoring 17 while Mitchell Santner (11) did not last long either.

Jadeja and Shardul Thakur then shared a 28-run stand for the seventh wicket before Harshal dismissed the latter and MS Dhoni on consecutive deliveries in the 19th over to dash CSK's hopes of finishing strongly. In the final over, Jadeja hit a six and a four to take CSK to a 160-plus total.

PBKS vs CSK scorecard:




Read More: IPL 2024 Points Table