PBKS vs MI: Watch - IPL broadcasters take big action after Faf du Plessis & Pat Cummins' conversation on controversial toss

Updated - 18 Apr 2024, 07:33 PM

PBKS vs MI toss
PBKS vs MI toss [PC: X]

Following the much-talked-about interaction between Faf du Plessis and Pat Cummins just before the toss for the game between Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Sunrisers Hyderabad earlier this week, the IPL officials and the broadcasters have taken a big step to avoid any controversy surrounding the toss.

The interaction between the two captains caught a lot of attention as Faf du Plessis was seemingly telling Cummins about the controversial toss for the match between MI and RCB at the Wankhede Stadium. MI captain Hardik Pandya surprisingly tossed the coin over his head and it landed behind everyone.

Match referee Javagal Srinath went to retrieve the coin and did not show the outcome of the toss to any captains before saying that Pandya had won the toss. Cummins was visibly surprised as du Plessis narrated the entire incident. The interaction soon became the talk of the town as many called for more clarity on the toss.

And the broadcasters have not taken long to react to the controversy. On Thursday (April 18), the cameras zoomed at the coin as soon as Punjab Kings captain Sam Curran tossed it for the game against Mumbai Indians. The match referee also waited for the camera to have a good look at the coin before picking it.

Watch The PBKS vs MI IPL 2024 Toss:

Talking about the game between PBKS and MI, the former have opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Both teams will be desperate to win tonight after managing to win just two of their first six games. PBKS are currently at the eighth spot in the points table while MI are languishing at the ninth.

Playing XIs:

Punjab Kings: Rilee Rossouw, Prabhsimran Singh, Sam Curran(c), Jitesh Sharma(w), Liam Livingstone, Shashank Singh, Ashutosh Sharma, Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Arshdeep Singh

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya(c), Tim David, Romario Shepherd, Mohammad Nabi, Gerald Coetzee, Shreyas Gopal, Jasprit Bumrah
Cricbuzz Live


IPL 2024 IPL Punjab Kings (PBKS) Mumbai Indians (MI)