Pakistan cricketers received cash prize in a ceremony at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Credits: Pakistan Cricket/Twitter

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) honoured national players and support staff with a whopping cash prize.

On Friday, PCB organised a ceremony called ‘PCB Honours Its Heroes and Stars’ at the Far-end building of the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Pakistan players received a cash prize of PKR15,000,00- Reports

Babar Azam and Ramiz Raja
PCB chairman Ramiz Raja (right) with Pakistan national team skipper Babar Azam. Credits: Pakistan Cricket/Twitter

According to a report by Cricket Pakistan, players received a cash prize of PKR15,000,00 while support staff was awarded in between PKR 2,000,00 to PKR 10,000,00. All the rewards were presented by PCB chairman Ramiz Raja.

“Appreciation along with accolades are important to boost player’s motivation. Take a look at the highlights from the ceremony where players were presented awards for their top-notch performance in 2021 by Chairman PCB,” Pakistan Cricket tweeted from its official handle.

The Babar-Azam led Pakistan side played nine Tests, six ODIs and 29 T20I matches in the calendar year 2021.

Pakistan topped the charts of Group 2 in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 as they won their all group stage fixtures. Pakistan thumped arch-rivals India by 10 wickets in their opening game in Dubai.

It was the first instance that a Pakistan team won against their neighbours in a World Cup fixture. Before that win, Pakistan had lost to India 12 times in both ODI and T20 World Cup matches.

However, Pakistan failed to lift the World T20 title despite their tremendous run in the tournament as they were eliminated by the eventual champions Australia in the second round of the semi-final.

Mohammad Rizwan named Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year 2021

Pakistan wicketkeeper batter Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 1915 runs across all formats, the most by any batter in 2021, won the Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year in PCB Awards 2021.

PCB chairman Ramiz Raja (right) with Pakistan player Mohammad Rizwan. Credits: Pakistan Cricket/Twitter

Rizwan was also unanimously selected by an independent panel as the T20I Cricketer of the Year by PCB.

Skipper Babar won the ODI Cricketer of the year while Hasan Ali bagged the Test Cricketer of the year for snapping 41 wickets from eight Tests.

Mohammad Wasim Jr was named as the Emerging Cricketer of the Year for his 45 wickets in 2021, including 15 wickets in his debut year in international cricket.

Also Read: PCB Set To Appoint Foreign Coach As Saqlain Mushtaq Steps Down As Pakistan’s Interim Head Coach