Former Australia cricketer Ian Chappell has joined the bandwagon of the cricket experts criticising the Decision Review System (DRS) as he slammed the baffling call from the third umpire on day five of the ongoing fourth Test between India and Australia in Brisbane.
Australia spin spearhead Nathan Lyon hit Cheteshwar Pujara on the front pad early on the day and he and his teammates appealed immediately. However, on-field umpire Paul Wilson gave his decision in the batsman’s favour. But Lyon and his teammates were convinced that they had their man and decided to review the decision.
The umpire had judged Pujara had not played a shot, meaning it didn’t matter where the impact of ball on pad was. The DRS ball-tracking technology showed the ball would have hit the top of leg stump before adjudging that less than the required 50 per cent would have hit the stumps. As a result, the benefit of the doubt went to the umpire’s original call and Pujara remained not out.
But the image on screen looked like at least half the ball was hitting the stump, leaving the fans and pundits utterly surprised as well as shocked. In no time, the fans and experts took to the social media to express their surprise over the call. And Ian Chappell also made sure to give his verdict on the incident. Speaking on ABC Grandstand, Ian Chappell made it clear that he found it tough to believe the call too.
“The bulk of the ball is hitting the stumps, how can that be umpire’s call?” Ian Chappell asked.
“That’s more than 50 per cent of the ball hitting the stumps, how the hell… I’ve never trusted the DRS and that’s even more reason not to trust it,” he added.
Ian Chappell also took aim at Pujara. The India No. 3 stuck his bat behind his front pad, trying to defend the Lyon delivery and that’s why Wilson determined he had not played a shot. Ian Chappell said that Pujara needs to stop playing that shot.
“Pujara has got to stop doing that,” Ian Chappell said. “It’s a silly shot. Why do you jump out of your crease and then kick the ball? That’s why they give you that wooden thing before you go out to bat.”
Here are some reactions on the incident:
No shot. Smashing into leg stump
Not out!? ?#AUSvsIND
— Tom Chadwick (@TomChadwick_7) January 19, 2021
How close was that on the projection???? ? Pujara ought to be careful, for the umpire has also seen it….and might be more keen to it giving it OUT next time. Stepping out and not offering a shot vs Lyon….tricky today. #AusvInd
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) January 19, 2021
— Michael Blok (@michaelblok26) January 19, 2021
— Andrew Menczel (Menners) (@amenners) January 19, 2021
You're telling me that's not removing a bail?
And he's not playing a shot?
That's OUT. https://t.co/LUpkjq4zbd
— Simon Anderson (@simonjourno) January 19, 2021
— Travis Meyn (@travismeyn) January 19, 2021
Umpires call. Or as it used to be known, out. https://t.co/5Jx8bRhwmO
— Richard Hinds (@rdhinds) January 19, 2021
I love the fact that Umpire's Call exists. It retains the benefit of the doubt that umpires used for over a century before DRS.
— Antony Pinshaw (@antonypinshaw) January 19, 2021