Rashid Latif Takes A Dig At ICC After They Name 4 Indians And No Pakistani In T20I Team Of The Decade

Rashid Latif Takes A Dig At ICC After They Name 4 Indians And No Pakistani In T20I Team Of The Decade

Rashid Latif
Rashid Latif (Credits - Twitter)

Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif has taken a dig at the International Cricket Council (ICC) after the governing body of the game announced the Men’s T20I Team of the Decade. The ICC Men’s ODI and Test teams of the decade were also announced on the same day. The ICC Awards of the Decade is a one-off edition of the annual awards programme, aimed at celebrating the stand-out performers and moments from the past ten years of international cricket.

Talking about the T20I Team of the Decade, the star-studded side includes four players from India, two Australians, two West Indies players, one from South Africa and a player each from Afghanistan and Sri Lanka. Not a single player from Pakistan, New Zealand as well as England managed to find a spot in the team.

India vs Australia 2019: Three Likely Changes For India If MS Dhoni Misses Out 1st ODI
MS Dhoni (Credits: BCCI)

Former India skipper MS Dhoni has been named the captain of the side while Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah are the other Indian cricketers in the team. The other players to feature in the team are Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, Kieron Pollard. Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan, who made his debut in 2015 and has 89 wickets in 48 matches is also in the team along with Lasith Malinga.

The selections for the team, however, has not gone down well with Rashid Latif who was quick to take a shot at the ICC. Replying to ICC’s tweet, Rashid Latif made it clear that he was unimpressed with the choices made and termed it as an Indian Premier League (IPL) Team of the Decade, tweeting”

“TYPO Error {They forget to write IPL-T20s team for the decade}.”

Here is the tweet:

Here is the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Decade

Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (c, wk), Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.

Also Read: Something Has Changed With Ravindra Jadeja In The Last Four Years: Sanjay Manjrekar

Also Read: Ajinkya Rahane Showed Leadership Is All About Actions: Tom Moody