S Sreesanth
S Sreesanth (Image Credit: Twitter)

India’s 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 World Cup-winning fast bowler S Sreesanth will be once again seen playing Ranji Trophy after he was named in the preliminary squad of the Kerala team for the upcoming domestic season. Sreesanth shared his joy on his selection in a social media post.

Sreesanth, who featured in 27 Tests, 53 ODIs, and 10 T20Is for Team India, last played international cricket in August 2011. He last played a First-class match in 2013, when he turned out for the Rest of India against Mumbai in the Irani Trophy match.

Sreesanth was banned for life by the court after being found guilty of spot-fixing during the IPL 2013 when he played for Rajasthan Royals, along with fellow teammates Ajit Chandila and Ankeet Chavan. He also served jail time in Delhi’s Tihar jail. In August 2019, BCCI ombudsman DK Jain reduced the life ban to 7 years which ended in September 2020.

S Sreesanth Named In Kerala's Preliminary Ranji Trophy Squad After 9 Years
Sreesanth. (Credits: Web)

He made his return in last year’s Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. However, this time he has skipped both the white-ball tournaments for Kerala in hopes of reigniting his red-ball dream and playing Ranji Trophy.

Grateful To Be Back Again After 9 Years Playing Ranji Trophy: S Sreesanth

On Sunday, December 26, 2021, Kerala State Cricket Association announced a list of 24 probables. Sachin Baby has been named captain of the side, replacing Sanju Samson and Jalaj Saxena. Wicketkeeper-batter Vishnu Vinod has been named Sachin’s deputy.

Sachin Baby
Sachin Baby (Image Credit: Twitter)

Robin Uthappa, who is yet to regain his fitness, has not been included in the probable list. Varun Nayanar is the second stumper, while Mohammad Azharuddeen has been overlooked. The preliminary camp will be held in Wayanad from December 30. Kerala is included in Elite Group B along with Bengal, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Haryana, and Tripura.

S Sreesanth
S Sreesanth. Image Credits: Twitter

Meanwhile, S Sreesanth took to Instagram to post a video in which he showed gratefulness after being recalled to the Kerala state team for Ranji Trophy.

“Back again after 9 years playing Ranji trophy for my lovely state #keralacricketassociation ..really grateful to each and everyone of u .lots of love and respect.” Sreesanth captioned his post.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Sree Santh (@sreesanthnair36)

Kerala Probables: Sachin Baby (capt), Vishnu Vinod (vice-capt & wk), Anand Krishnan, Rohan Kunnumal, Vatsal Govind, Rahul P, Salman Nizar, Sanju Samson, Jalaj Saxena, Sijomon Joseph, Akshay K C, Mithun S, Basil N P, Nideesh M D, Manu Krishnan, Basil Thampi, Fanoos F, S Sreesanth, Akshay Chandran, Varun Nayanar (wk), Anand Joseph, Vinoop Manoharan, Arun M, Vaishak Chandran.

Also Read: Syed Kirmani Calls For “Harmony” Between Virat Kohli And BCCI