SA vs AUS: Australia Unveils Their Playing XI For The First ODI Against South Africa

Published - 06 Sep 2023, 08:29 PM

Australia {PC: Twitter}
Australia {PC: Twitter}

After the dominating outings in the three-match series, Australia will now be locking horns with South Africa in the five-match ODI series. It’ll be an ideal preparation for both teams as ICC World Cup 2023 is around the corner. 

The five-match ODI series between Australia and South Africa begins from Wednesday (7th September). The second game will be played on 9th September followed by the third game slated to take place on 12th September. The final two games will be played on 15th September and 17th September respectively. 

With less than 24 hours remaining for the first ODI between Australia and South Africa, the visitors have announced their playing 11 for the game. David Warner along with Travis Head will be opening the innings and it pretty much gives an idea about their pair for ICC World Cup 2023. 

Mitchell Marsh will be captaining the team in the absence of Pat Cummins and Steve Smith and will bat No.3. With seniors missing due to injuries, Cameron Green has been provided with an opportunity to bat at No.4. He’s also expected to play a crucial role with the ball. 

Josh Inglis and Alex Carey are slotted at No.5 and No.6 respectively whereas Marcus Stoinis will bat No.7. The all-rounder will be playing a crucial role with the ball, especially with Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins not being there. 

Australia have opted to play with two spinners Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa. Whereas Sean Abbott and Josh Hazlewood are the two front-line pacers who will be taking up the field for Australia against South Africa in the first match of the series. 

SA vs AUS: Australia Playing 11 for the first ODI against South Africa 

Here’s Australia’s playing 11 for the first ODI against South Africa.

David Warner, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh (c), Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa 

Not only Australia but South Africa too has named their playing 11 for the first game of the series. Here’s their team: 

Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock (Wk), Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Kagiso Rabada.


AUS vs SA AUS vs SA 2023 Australia National Cricket Team South Africa national cricket team