SA vs AUS: Dewald Brevis Receives Maiden Call-Up As South Africa Announce Squads For Australia White-ball Series

Published - 14 Aug 2023, 08:36 PM | Updated - 27 Jun 2024, 04:55 PM

Dewald Brevis, South Africa
Dewald Brevis [PC: BCCI]

On Monday, August 14, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the ODI and T20I squads of the South Africa National Cricket Team for the upcoming home series against Australia National Cricket Team.

The 20-year-old batter Dewald Brevis has received his maiden call-up for the ODIs and T20Is against the Aussies. The talented batter had scored 506 runs in the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2022 at an average of 84.33 and he finished as the highest run-getter in the marquee tournament to win the Player of the Tournament award.

Following his success in the ICC Under-19 World Cup, he was bought by Mumbai Indians (MI) for INR 3 crore at the Indian Premier League 2022 mega auction. He also represents the MI franchise in SA20 and ILT20.

Dewald Brevis has played just 12 games in First-class cricket and List-A cricket combined but the selectors have shown faith in his talent and have handed him a maiden call-up for a high-profile series.

Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada rested for T20Is

South Africa have rested Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, and Kagiso Rabada for the T20Is against Australia to manage their workloads in a World Cup year. However, the players are set to be available for the subsequent ODI series.

Talking about other notable inclusions Donovan Ferreira, Gerald Coetzee, and Matthew Breetzke have secured their spot in the T20I squad, which is set to be led by Aiden Markram. This is the first T20I call-up for the abovementioned players.

Meanwhile, the Australia tour of South Africa consists of a three-match T20I series and a five-match ODI series. The T20Is will be played on August 30, September 1, and September 3. The ODIs, on the other hand, will be played on September 7, 9, 12, 15 and 17.

South Africa Squads For White-ball Series Against Australia

Proteas T20I squad against Australia: Aiden Markram (captain), Temba Bavuma, Matthew Breetzke, Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams and Rassie van der Dussen.

Proteas ODI squad against Australia: Temba Bavuma (captain), Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, and Rassie van der Dussen.