Shikhar Dhawan To Lead As Delhi Name Squad For Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2020-21

Shikhar Dhawan To Lead As Delhi Name Squad For Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2020-21

Shikhar Dhawan, India, Australia
Shikhar Dhawan [Photo-Twitter]

The Delhi domestic team has announced their squad for the upcoming edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy of 2021 will take place from the 10th of January and continue till the 31st. India’s limited-overs opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan will lead the 20-man squad as announced by the Delhi District Cricket Association via Twitter.

Also Read: BCCI President Sourav Ganguly Clears The Air Around Him Joining The BJP

Shikhar Dhawan will captain the team that has the likes of Ishant Sharma, Nitish Rana, Pawan Negi, Pradeep Sangwan, and Lalit Yadav amongst others. Shikhar Dhawan did reasonably well in the white-ball games in Australia as he played some excellent innings at the top. The left-handed batsman was particularly in an ominous form in IPL 2020, ending the tournament as the second-highest run-getter.

Ishant Sharma
Ishant Sharma (Source: Twitter)

Dhawan’s aggregate for the Delhi Capitals this year was 618 runs in 17 matches at 44.14 along with two centuries that came consecutively. It also had four half-centuries along the way while maintaining a strike rate of 144.73. On the other hand, Ishant Sharma will be making a comeback from the side strain that ruled him out of the Test series in Australia. However, it already came to light that the 31-year old would not be available for all the matches. The players have to report to Mr. Rajkumar Sharma (Chief coach) and Gursharan Singh (Coach) at Arun Jaitley Stadium at 10:00 am on the 29th of December.

Delhi’s Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-squad, captained by Shikhar Dhawan:

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Ishant Sharma, Nitish Rana, Himmat Singh, Kshitiz Sharma, Jonty Sidhu, Hiten Dalal, Lalit Yadav, Shivank Vashishth, Manjot Kalra, Siddhant Sharma, Anuj Rawat (wk), Pradeep Sangwan, Simarjeet Singh, Pawan Negi, Ayush Badoni, Vaibhav Kandpal, Lakshay Thareja (wk), Pawan Suyal, Karan Dagar.