Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill (Image Credits: Twitter)

Young Indian opening batter Shubman Gill has ignored superstars Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and MS Dhoni while naming the greatest of all time. Shubman Gill expressed his admiration for the legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, considering him the greatest of all time.

Gill, in red-hot form in ODIs this year, scored 1584 runs in 29 innings at an average of 63.36 and a strike rate of 105.46. The right-handed batter smashed five centuries and nine half-centuries. He amassed 354 runs in nine matches during the ODI World Cup 2023.

That’s A Very Tough One – Shubman Gill

During an award ceremony, Gill expressed that deciding between Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli was a challenging choice. Nevertheless, he emphasized that Tendulkar occupies a special place in his cricketing journey.

“That’s a very tough one. I would say, for me, Sachin sir, because he is the reason I started playing cricket. So I would say Sachin sir,” Gill said when asked, “who is the greatest of all time?”

The 24-year-old hasn’t had the opportunity to share a dressing room with Sachin Tendulkar in international or franchise cricket. He played for India alongside Virat Kohli in international cricket. He became a regular member of the team in all three formats of the game.

Read More  "This is historic" - Twitter reacts as BCCI terminates Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer’s central contracts

Gill Rested From ODI Squad For South Africa Tour

Gill last played during the World Cup final between India and Australia in Ahmedabad. He is set to travel to South Africa for a series comprising three T20Is, three ODIs, and two Tests. He was included in the Test and T20I squads but rested for ODIs.

India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammed Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

Also read: IPL 2024: “Shubman Gill Will Definitely Be A Very Good Captain” – Sai Sudharsan Lauds Newly Appointed GT Skipper

Saikrishna Vaitla is an author at Cricketaddictor has been working since September 2022.