The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the T20I Team of the Year which includes five women cricketers from England. Smriti Mandhana is the only Indian to make the coveted list.

Mandhana had a good year where she scored 255 runs at an average of over 30. She was the top scorer for the Indian women and also maintained a healthy strike rate of 131.44.

The batting order then includes Tammy Beaumont and Danni Wyatt from England followed by Gaby Lewis from Ireland. Beaumont and Wyatt have been reliable at the top for the Englishwomen, putting up sturdy partnerships together.

Danielle Wyatt
Danielle Wyatt. Image-AFP

Lewis, on the other hand, had a stellar 2021 where she became the first woman from Ireland to score a century in international cricket. She scored 325 runs at an average of 40.62 in the T20I format.

Nat Sciver was named as the captain and teammate, Amy Jones, was the wicket-keeper. Sciver scored 153 runs and also took 10 wickets while Jones stacked up 151 runs, all coming at a strike rate of 142.45.

Tammy Beaumont and Nat Sciver of England. Photo- Getty, ICC
Tammy Beaumont and Nat Sciver of England. Photo- Getty

Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, and Shabnim Ismail are the three players included from South Africa while the remaining two spots are filled up by Sophie Ecclestone from England and Loryn Phiri from Zimbabwe.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year

Smriti Mandhana, Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Gaby Lewis, Nat Sciver (c), Amy Jones (wk), Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, Shabnim Ismail, Loryn Phiri, Sophie Ecclestone.

Also Read – Dilip Vengsarkar Blasts BCCI Selectors For Not Grooming A Captaincy Successor For Virat Kohli