BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly
BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly (Image Credit: Twitter)

Sourav Ganguly has been selected as the next Chairman of the ICC Technical Committee, according to a report in Times Of India.

Sourav Ganguly, the BCCI President, will replace former India leg-spinner and his teammate, Anil Kumble, who has completed nine years at the post. He has been elevated from being an observer in the committee to the chairman position.

The function of the ICC technical committee is to oversee the playing conditions and regulations of the game.

Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble
Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble. Image-DNA

India to host 3 ICC events in 2024-31 cycle; Pakistan to host 2025 Champions Trophy

As finalised on Tuesday in the ICC meeting, India will co-host the 2026 T20 World Cup along with Sri Lanka, host the 2029 Champions Trophy solely, and co-host the 2031 ODI World Cup with Bangladesh.

Another major decision was that Pakistan will host the 2025 Champions Trophy, the country’s first ICC event since 1996.

“It delights me no end that Pakistan will be hosting this prestigious world tournament . It is going to be a viewing boon to millions of Pakistani fans who had to wait patiently for years to be part of something as grand as this. World will sample our hospitality to go with our great exciting cricket,” PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja told Cricbuzz.

Pakistan will host the 2025 Champions Trophy. Image-geo.tv

Further, USA Cricket and Cricket West Indies have joined hands to put forward their bid to stage the 2024 T20 World Cup, and it was approved. It will be the first global cricket senior men’s competition to be hosted by the USA.

Namibia and Zimbabwe co-hosts with South Africa for the 2027 ODI World Cup, while Australia and New Zealand, the 2021 T20 World Cup finalists, will host the 2028 event. England, Ireland, Scotland are allotted the 2030 T20 World Cup.

Also Read: I Would Love Someone Like Rohit Sharma To Play All Three Formats – Rahul Dravid