Sri Lanka Announce Squad For West Indies Tests; Dimuth Karunaratne Returns To Lead The Side

Sri Lanka Announce Squad For West Indies Tests; Dimuth Karunaratne Returns To Lead The Side

Dimuth Karunaratne
Dimuth Karunaratne. Image-Reuters

On Saturday, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has named a 17-member squad to take on West Indies in a 2 Test match series which will commence on 21st March. Both the games will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua.

Opener and regular skipper, Dimuth Karunaratne will return to the side after missing the home Test series against England due to a thumb injury. Sri Lanka, led by Dinesh Chandimal, was whitewashed by Joe Root’s side. Karunaratne will also lead the side in the upcoming ODI series beginning on March 10.

Along with Karunaratne, Dhananjaya De Silva, who was ruled out against England owing to a thigh injury that he sustained in South Africa, returns to the team.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka team. Image-Twitter

Pacer Lahiru Kumara continues to be out of the squad after testing positive for the covid-19. Also, the board informed that Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Roshen Silva, Vishwa Fernando, and Lasith Embuldeniya have left for the West Indies on Saturday as they all are part of the Test squad.

“The National Cricket Selectors have chosen the following squad to play the 02 Match Test Series vs West Indies. The squad was approved by the Minister of Youth and Sports Honorable Namal Rajapaksa,” the SLC said in an official statement.

Dasun Shanaka to travel via France to join the Sri Lanka side for ODIs after missing the T20I series

Dasun Shanaka
Dasun Shanaka. Image-Twitter

Another boost for the side is that the newly appointed T20I skipper, all-rounder Dasun Shanaka will travel to the West Indies, but through France and not the USA to join the ODI squad.

Shanaka couldn’t leave in time for the T20I series due to US transit visa issues. Hence, Angelo Mathews was asked to captain the side in the T20I series against Kieron Pollard’s team. Currently, the series is levelled at 1-1 with the decider to be played on Sunday.

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Dasun Shanaka, Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Roshen Silva, Dhananjaya De Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Vishwa Fernando, Suranga Lakmal, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Embuldeniya

Also Read: Michael Vaughan Heaps Praise On Team India But States They Are Yet To Prove Themselves The Best Test Team Of This Era