Aaron Finch, Dasun Shanaka, Australia, Sri Lanka
Aaron Finch, Dasun Shanaka. (Photo: Twitter)

Last Update on: June 1st, 2022 at 04:07 pm

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has named an 18-member squad for their upcoming 3-match T20I series against Australia at home starting on June 7, Tuesday.

Dasun Shanaka will be leading a side filled with brimming youngsters and a couple of players who are coming off a good season in the IPL 2022 edition that concluded recently.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa will be expected to play at No. 3 after impressive outings for Punjab Kings (PBKS) while Wanindu Hasaranga finished with 26 wickets, the second-highest in the league.

Dasun Shanaka
Dasun Shanaka. (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Maheesh Theekshana is also a bright prospect for the Lankans while Matheesha Pathirana, termed ‘Baby Malinga’, will likely be given chances, keeping an eye on this year’s T20 World Cup.

The tour will be taking place amid a crisis in Lanka and reports emerged that several players were worried about traveling due to security concerns.

We’ve been keeping in regular contact with the governments of both countries and SLC and all is good and there are no changes to the plans. The T20 squad is leaving Australia tomorrow afternoon. They’re looking forward to the tour, with the three T20 games an important part of the build-up to the ICC World Cup in Australia in October-November.”

Sri Lanka Name 18-Man Squad For T20I Series Against Australia
Chamika Karunaratne of Sri Lanka, left, celebrates the wicket of Ben McDermott of Australia during their T20 cricket match in Sydney, Friday, Feb. 11, 2022. (Dean Lewins/AAP Image via AP)

The squad has great respect for the Sri Lanka team and are anticipating a hard-fought and exciting series,” a spokesman for the CA told.

Sri Lanka’s T20I squad for Australia series:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan.

Also Read – IND vs SA: It Is Being Seen More After Rahul Dravid Has Come In – Saba Karim On Continuity In Team India’s Selections