Sri Lanka To Host Ireland In A One-Off Test In May

Sri Lanka To Host Ireland In A One-Off Test In May

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Cricket Team. Credit: Gallo Images

Sri Lanka has unveiled their action-packed home season for the forthcoming year as they will host England, Bangladesh, Ireland, India, South Africa, Scotland and Afghanistan and also stage the 15th ACC Asia Cup. One of the most prominent fixtures is Sri Lanka’s maiden Test against Ireland, which has played three Tests and lost all of it. They earned its Test status in 2017.

Six out of the eight Tests are between England and Bangladesh – both of which are part of the ICC World Test Championship. Sri Lanka will play two and three Tests against England and Bangladesh respectively while the remaining one would be against Ireland, set to stage in May. The Sri Lankan team will also travel to the West Indies to play two Tests next year.

Ireland Cricket Team, Sri Lanka vs Ireland 2020
Ireland celebrate a wicket. Credit: Getty Images

With the ICC World Twenty20 scheduled to take place in India in October-November 2021, the focus of matches have been largely concentrated on T20Is. The Asia Cup, which have 50-over games have also been converted to T20 over fixtures. The 2021 edition will also be one with the shortest format and will serve as a preparation ground for the T20 World Cup.

The visits by England, India, South Africa, and Bangladesh which had to be postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic have been rescheduled to the upcoming year. The year 2021 also comprises of the second season of Lanka Premier League July-August and the inaugural Sri Lanka T10 that concludes in December.

Sri Lanka’s international cricket fixtures for season 2021:

  • January: v England (H) – 2 Tests
  • Feb-Mar: v West Indies (A) – 2 Tests, 3 ODIs, 3 T20Is
  • Mar-April: v Bangladesh (H) – 3 Tests
  • May: v Ireland (H) – 1 Test
  • May-June: v Bangladesh (A) – 3 ODIs
  • June: ICC Test Championship Final (Lord’s)
  • June: Asia Cup (H) T20Is
  • June-July: v England (A) – 3 ODIs
  • July: v India (H) – 3 T20Is
  • July-Aug: LPL Season 2 (H) – T20
  • Aug-Sep: v South Africa (H) – 3 ODIs, 3 T20Is
  • Sep-Oct: v Scotland (H) – 3 T20Is
  • Oct-Nov: ICC World T20 (India) – T20
  • Nov-Dec: v Afghanistan (H) – 3 ODIs
  • Dec: Sri Lanka Season 1 (H) – T10

Also Read: Mohammad Hafeez Blames Commercial Flights For COVID-19 Cases In Pakistan Camp