T20 World Cup 2024: Eoin Morgan betrays England as he picks the favourites to win the World Cup

Published - 28 May 2024, 01:08 PM | Updated - 28 May 2024, 01:20 PM

Team India and Eoin Morgan
Team India and Eoin Morgan. Image Credit: Getty Images

The Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team has landed in the United States to participate in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. India is eager to end their decade-long ICC trophy drought by winning the upcoming tournament, starting on June 1 in the USA and Caribbean.

As the 2024 T20 World Cup approaches, the Men in Blue are ready to rise to the challenge to end their long wait for an ICC title with a strong squad, expert leadership, and a hunger for success.

Ahead of the mega event, former England captain Eoin Morgan said that Team India is a strong contender to win the T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and Caribbean. Morgan believes that India is the team to beat in the upcoming edition of the showpiece event.

India are favorites to win the T20 World Cup 2024: Eoin Morgan

He highlighted India's exceptional depth and talent, saying even players not included in the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 are incredibly strong, and that shows their overall strength. The former England batter further emphasized that the current roster of the Indian cricket team is the strongest for the upcoming mega ICC event.

Morgan, who led England to a historic 2019 ODI World Cup win and played in the T20 World Cup final in 2016, also pointed out that if Rohit Sharma and his brigade play to their potential, they are capable of crushing any team by a significant margin in the tournament, making them clear favorites for the title.

Eoin Morgan said on Sky Sports, “The strongest side even with injuries throughout the tournament is India without a doubt. Their strength and depth are absolutely incredible at the moment… We are talking about who the players were that missed out in their squad of 15 because of the quality they possess.

They haven’t won it since the first World Cup back in 2007. They are favorites for me. I think that they’re just the quality that they have on paper. If they produce it, I think they can, they can beat anybody quite well in the tournament.”

Michael Atherton wonders why India hasn't won T20 WC since 2007

Meanwhile, former England captain and commentator Michael Atherton has expressed his surprise over India's inability to win the T20 World Cup title since their historic win in its inaugural edition in 2007, despite the widespread talk that the IPL improved the skills of the Indian players.

Atherton was quoted as saying by Sky Sports: “They haven’t won it since that first World Cup back in 2007. That’s the great irony. That’s how long It’s also an irony because everybody talks about the IPL and how that has improved. India’s T20 cricket. The irony is the only time they’ve won it was pre-IPL.”

Notably, India will kick off their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign against Ireland at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on June 5. India’s T20 World Cup squad featured Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Suryakumar Yadav in the batting department.

Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson have been picked as the wicketkeeper-batters for the tournament. Team India has all-rounders in Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Axar Patel, and Ravindra Jadeja, while Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Mohammed Siraj completed the squad by filling in the bowling attack for the mega event.


Eoin Morgan India National Cricket Team Michael Atherton ICC T20 World Cup England Woman vs Pakistan Women