Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan (Image Credit: Twitter)

England limited-overs skipper Eoin Morgan believes that England’s biggest strength for the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is the consistency at which they have performed over the last two years. England, who won the ODI World Cup in 2019, has the opportunity to become the first team to clinch both the ODI and T20I World Cup titles at the same time.

England was close to winning the previous edition of the T20I World Cup in 2016, however, they lost to West Indies in the final game after failing to save 19 runs off the final over. Now, they will again face West Indies in the first-ever encounter of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The England vs West Indies match will take place on October 23.

Jason Holder and Eoin Morgan
Jason Holder and Eoin Morgan during T20I WC 2016 final (Image Credit: Twitter)

I Think England’s Biggest Strength Is Consistency: Eoin Morgan

While speaking to ICC cricket.com, England’s ODI and T20I captain Eoin Morgan said that his team’s biggest strength is the consistency at which they have performed over the last two years.

“The evolution of T20 cricket and the role it’s played in our great game is hugely significant for the development of the game and the popularity of the game. It’s huge. It’s been a long time coming. We haven’t had one since 2016. I think our biggest strength is the consistency which we’ve performed at over the last two years,” the right-handed batsman said.

Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Morgan also mentioned that England has to face some talented teams in their group but they are gathering the momentum nicely.

“I think in T20 cricket because the game can change quite quickly and there’s a huge group of talented teams within our group, I think every game is important to us.

“I think we’re gathering momentum nicely, and I think the important side to that from our perspective is that we’re continuously trying to get better and learn as we go on, simply because the tournament is held away from home. We’re really looking forward to it,” Eoin Morgan further said.

Engand national cricket team
England national cricket team (Image Credit: Twitter)

England is placed in group 1 with teams like Australia, West Indies, and South Africa in their pool. They will commence their journey with the encounter against West Indies on October 23 in the Super 12 stage. In group 2, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and Afghanistan are going to battle against each other in the Super 12 stage. 2 teams from the qualifiers stage will also join each group in the super 12 round.

Also Read: England’s Yorkshire Club Apologises To Azeem Rafiq For ‘Inapposite Behaviour’, Former Cricketer Accuses County Of Fudging Away With Racism Allegations

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 commences on October 17, 2021, in UAE. Oman and Papua New Guinea will face each other in the 1st match of the qualifiers stage. After the super 12 round, the top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The final game will be played on November 14, 2021.