Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021 To Commence After IPL 2021, BCCI Gives Nod To TNCA To Conduct The 5th Edition Of Tournament  

Chepauk Super Giles
Chepauk Super Giles (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has granted permission to Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) to host Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021 (TNPL) after IPL 2021. Therefore, the Tamil Nadu Premier League will return after one year. Tamil Nadu Premier League did not take place last year as it was cancelled to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Tamil Nadu Cricket Association were eager to host TNPL last year in December after the completion of IPL 2021. However, they could not do so due to Covid-19 concerns.

However, now they have got BCCI’s nod to conduct the tournament. Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021 will start on June 4, 2021, and will conclude on July 4, 2021. A total of 8 teams will take part in the tournament. This will be the 5th edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League.

TNPL 2019 final
TNPL 2019 final (Image Credit: Twitter)

Glad BCCI Has Approved TNPL 2021: TNCA

In an official statement, Tamil Nadu Cricket Association announced getting BCCI’s nod to host the tournament. TNCA also assured that it will follow strict protocols and precautions to conduct the tournament with safety.

“TNCA is glad to announce that BCCI has approved the TNPL 2021 tournament. After getting necessary approvals from the Government of Tamil Nadu, the tournament will start on 4th June at Tirunelveli and the finals will be played on 4th July at Salem.

“TNCA will follow strict Standard operating measures of bio bubble with frequent testing and quarantine rules as it is being done for BCCI Domestic matches, International matches and with IPL,” TNCA stated in a press release.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021, Chepauk Super Giles Win TNPL 2019
Chepauk Super Giles Win TNPL 2019 (Image Credit: Twitter)

Eight teams that will be part of Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021 (TNPL )are Dindigul Dragons, Chepauk Super Gillies, Madurai Panthers, VB Kanchi Veerans, Lyca Kovai Kings, TUTI Patriots, Ruby Trichy Warriors, and Karaikudi Kaalai. In the last season of TNPL 2019, Chepauk Super Giles won the title after defeating Dindigul Dragons by 12 runs in the final.

A lot of cricketers from the Southern part of India are very active in Tamil Nadu Premier League. Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Murali Vijay, Murugan Ashwin, and T Natarajan are some popular players who take part in Tamil Nadu Premier League.

Related Posts