Virat Kohli added but Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant excluded as Harsha Bhogle names IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament

Updated - 27 May 2024, 11:53 PM

Harsha Bhogle
Harsha Bhogle {PC:X}

Voice of cricket Harsha Bhogle has named his team of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. The reputed commentator didn’t name Mumbai Indians batter Rohit Sharma and Delhi Capitals skipper Rishabh Pant in the team picked by him. 

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) batter Virat Kohli will be opening the innings in Harsha Bhogle’s team of the IPL. The batter was the leading run-getter in the tournament with 741 runs to his name and also slammed one century and 5 half-centuries.

Sunil Narine made it as a second opener in his team. The Kolkata Knight Riders star won Player of the Tournament as he scored around 500 runs in the tournament and also picked crucial wickets with the ball. At No.3, Sanju Samson got the spot in Harsha Bhogle’s team. 

The Rajasthan Royals skipper scored 531 runs to his name at a strike rate of around 153. He also slammed 5 half-centuries. His teammate, Riyan Parag was backed by Bhogle at No.4. He scored 573 runs in the 16 games that he played in the tournament.

Harsha Bhogle then was confused between Heinrich Klassen and Nicholas Pooran as the keeper-batter in his team. But to his six-hitting ability and being the left-hander, the reputed commentator went with Pooran, who was magnificent with the bat for Lucknow Super Giants. The Carribean player scored 499 runs at a massive strike rate of around 175. 

At No.6, Kolkata Knight Riders all-rounder Andre Russell made it into the team. Harsha Bhogle was impressed by his strike rate and also the wickets he got. The all-rounder claimed 12 wickets at an average of just around 17. 

Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah were two frontline fast bowlers in the IPL 2024 team of the tournament of Harsha Bhogle. While the Rajasthan Royals bowler oozed his class with the ball in the powerplay, Bumrah was the third-leading wicket-taker in the tournament. Although the Mumbai Indians didn’t have a great tournament, he was the shining light for the team. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad pacer T Natarajan was the third seamer in the team picked by Harsha Bhogle. He backed the left-arm pacer because he was impressed with the way he bowled in the tournament where every bowler was taken to cleaners. Varun Chakravarthy, who was the second leading wicket-taker in the IPL 2024 with 21 wickets, is the second spinner in his team along with Narine. 

He also backed Dinesh Karthik as a finisher in his team. The keeper-batter was exceptional for RCB in the league and won quite a few games for his team with his brutal batting and called his retirement after the league. 

Harsha Bhogle’s IPL 2024 team of the tournament 

Here’s Harsha Bhogle’s IPL 2024 team of the tournament 

Virat Kohli, Sunil Narine, Sanju Samson, Riyan Parag, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Jasprit Bumrah, Varun Chakravarthy, Trent Boult, T Natarajan 


IPL Harsha Bhogle Rohit Sharma Rishabh Pant