Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh. Photo- Twitter
Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh. Photo- Twitter

Last Update on: January 4th, 2022 at 03:51 pm

Former Indian cricketing legends like Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, and Harbhajan Singh are amongst the host of several former stars who has signed on to participate in the inaugural edition of the Legends League Cricket (LCC) tournament which is expected to be played in Oman from January 20, 2022, onwards.

The first season of LLC, which is a professional cricket league for retired international cricketers, will be played at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Oman among three power-packed teams. The other two teams in the league are the Rest of the World and Asia.

Yusuf Pathan and Irfan Pathan
Yusuf Pathan and Irfan Pathan (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Indian cricketers will represent the team named India Maharaja and apart from the three legends mentioned above, other former Indian stars like Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia, and Amit Bhandari are also expected to be part of the Indian contingent.

Sanath Jayasuriya, Shahid Afridi, Chaminda Vaas Amongst Other Former International Stars Participating In The Legends League Cricket

The former captain and head coach of the Indian team, Ravi Shastri has been named the commissioner of the inaugural edition of the Legends League Cricket (LCC).

Ravi Shastri
Ravi Shastri (Image Credit: Twitter)

“Like true Kings, they will come, they would see and they would conquer. The Cricket Maharajas from India are coming together to take on the battle against the other two top teams from Asia and rest of the World.

“It would be the mother of all rivalries when Sehwag, Yuvraj, Bhajji play against Afridi, Murali, Chaminda, Shoaib, this will be a blast from the past for the fans,” former India coach and Commissioner of Legends League Cricket Ravi Shastri was quoted as saying in a media release.

The Asia team called the Asia Lions includes former Pakistan and Sri Lankan legends Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kamran Akmal, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, and Umar Gul.

Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Asif
Shoaib Akhtar and Shahid Afridi [Image-Getty]
Former Afghanistan captain Asghar Afghan, who retired from international cricket during the T20 World Cup 2021, will also participate in the LCC 2022. While players representing the third team are yet to be announced.

Also Read: Australian Domestic Leagues Hit By COVID-19 Outbreak