KL Rahul, T20 World Cup 2021
KL Rahul (Image Credit: Twitter)

Indian opener KL Rahul said that his dream is to win more than one World Cup for India to create history.

India have won two World Cups in 1983 and 2011 under the leadership of Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni, respectively. India also won the inaugural edition of the 2007 T20 World Cup in South Africa.

India, 2011 World Cup
India. Image Credits: Twitter

I watched the 2011 World Cup at home: KL Rahul

Rahul said that he had watched the Indian team’s victorious campaign in the 2011 World Cup, where they defeated Sri Lanka in Mumbai to be crowned champions after 28 years.

The Karnataka-born player aspired to become a cricketer and help India win multiple World Cups.

Growing up, I watched the 2011 World Cup at home, that’s when we won the World Cup and things changed for me. From that day on, I was like, this is what I want to do. I want to win a World Cup for my country, win one or two or three and be part of the world cup and create history,” Rahul said in a video uploaded by International Cricket Council on Instagram.

Rahul is currently part of India’s T20 World Cup team and has scored consecutive fifties in the last two matches against Afghanistan and Scotland.

Although Rahul started the tournament with low scores of 3 and 18 in the first two games that India lost to Pakistan and New Zealand in Group 2.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul looked immaculate on the night. (Image: Twitter)

KL Rahul could be the future captain of India?

Rahul is considered as one of the explosive opener in white-ball cricket and was preferred ahead of Shikhar Dhawan in the T20 World Cup squad for India.

Rahul is also ranked as a potential leader because of his stint with the Punjab Kings (earlier Kings XI Punjab) in IPL.

Some reports have also suggested that Rahul could lead India in the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand at home, given that senior players like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will be rested.

Also Read: New Zealand To Practice In Kolkata For Two Test Matches Against India: Cricket Association Of Bengal