Washington Sundar
Washington Sundar. Image Credits: BCCI

Last Update on: October 5th, 2021 at 11:57 pm

India all-rounder Washington Sundar will be back in action in the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy after being named in the 20-man Tamil Nadu squad for the tournament which begins from November 4 onwards. Sundar has been nursing a finger injury which he got on the recent Indian team’s tour to England.

The injury happened to Washington Sundar when he was batting in the nets and a bouncer from Mohammed Siraj hit his fingers harder than expected and he was in excruciating pain after returning to the pavilion, as per reports. This ruled him out of the five-Test series against England, which India leads 2-1 with the fifth Test in Manchester called off due to COVID concerns.

Washington Sundar had to undergo surgery which resulting in him missing the following second-leg of the IPL 2021 in UAE, where he was supposed to play for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and also the T20 World Cup 2021, which will also be played in UAE and Oman.

Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik (Twitter)

The Tamil Nadu team is the defending champions of the tournament and will be led by Dinesh Karthik with all-rounder Vijay Shankar being named the vice-captain of the side. Vijay has been out of action in the ongoing IPL after being forced out by virtue of being a close contact with fast bowler T Natarajan, who is recovering from Covid-19.

T Natarajan Named In The Tamil Nadu Squad For The Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

T Natarajan had tested positive for COVID-19 after reaching UAE for the IPL 2021 where he plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) as he had recovered from knee surgery and this resulted in him and a couple of other players including Vijay Shankar being put into a 10-day quarantine and virtually ruling them out of the tournament, as SRH have been eliminated from the playoffs race.

T Natarajan
T Natarajan (Image Credit: Twitter)

This tournament will be a chance for Natarajan and Sundar to prove their fitness for the upcoming India home season that begins with the T20I series against New Zealand from November 17. Tamil Nadu is placed in Group A and will play their first match against Maharashtra on November 4. The other teams in the group include Goa, Punjab, Odisha, and Puducherry.

Other notable names in the Tamil Nadu squad include batting allrounder B Aparajith, wicketkeeper-batter N Jagadeesan, power hitter Shahrukh Khan and fast bowler Sandeep Warrier. The squad also features two rookies in batter B Sai Sudharsan and seamer P Saravana Kumar, both of whom impressed in the Tamil Nadu Premier League.

Tamil Nadu Squad: Dinesh Karthik (capt), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Sandeep Warrier, R Sai Kishore, B Aparajith, N Jagadeesan, M Ashwin, Shahrukh Khan, Hari Nishaanth, M Siddharth, Ganga Sridhar Raju, M Mohammed, J Kousik, R Sanjay Yadav, R Silambarasan, R Vivek Raj, B Sai Sudharsan, P Saravana Kumar

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021: Hardik Pandya Can’t Be Part Of India’s Best Playing XI If He Doesn’t Bowl – Gautam Gambhir