Watch: Ravi Bishnoi Castles Matthew Short With A Wrong 'Un

Updated - 23 Nov 2023, 09:13 PM

Ravi Bishnoi, Matthew Short

Ravi Bishnoi provided the Indian team with the first breakthrough in the ongoing first T20I against Australia. The two teams are squaring off with each other in the first game of the five-match series at Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam. 

India opted to field first and came under a bit of pressure as Matthew Short and Steve Smith gave a flying start to Australia. They utilized the batting conditions well and played some staggering strokes. But the introduction of Ravi Bishnoi into the attack applied breaks on the scoring rate. 

Ravi Bishnoi removed the dangerous Matthew Short with a peach and drew the first blood for his team. During the 4th ball of the over, the leg-spinner bowled a brilliant wrong ‘un that was tossed up. The batter tried to play over mid-wicket with the spin. However, he missed the ball and it went straight on and crashed into the off-stump. 

Here’s the video:

Matthew Short ended with the knock of 13 runs off 11 balls. He smashed three fours in his innings and added 31 runs for the opening partnership with Steve Smith. His wicket left Australia at 31/1. But after that nothing, Josh Inglis has taken charge to bowlers and has put the Indian team under pressure. 

Josh Inglis, who didn’t look in great touch in World Cup 2023, has unleashed himself in the T20I series. His staggering innings has ensured that Australia score runs quickly and keep the run rate over 8.

IND vs AUS: India and Australia Playing 11 for the first T20I 

India has played 5 left-handers in the top 7. Shivam Dube was the unlucky one who missed out on the XI. Here’s the Indian XI for the first T20I against Australia: 

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav (c), Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna 

Australia on the other hand have rested players who were part of the World Cup. Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa, and Travis Head are benched. Here’s the Australian XI For the first T20I: 

Matthew Short, Steven Smith, Josh Inglis, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (c & wk), Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Jason Behrendorff, Tanveer Sangha


Australia National Cricket Team IND vs AUS IND vs AUS 2023 India National Cricket Team Matthew Short Ravi Bishnoi