West Indies Announce Squad For Second Test Against South Africa

West Indies Announce Squad For Second Test Against South Africa

West Indies vs South Africa 2021 1st Test Match Prediction
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

West Indies Cricket Board has announced their squad for the second Test against South Africa starting from June 18 at St Lucia. Darren Bravo has been recalled into the Test side and pacer Shannon Gabriel has been added to the 13-man squad that has been announced. The Windies were totally outplayed in the first Test being bowled out for 97 and 162. South Africa won by an innings and 63 designed by Quinton De Kock’s unbeaten 141 at number six.

Meanwhile, the West Indies chief selector Roger Harper has said that Gabriel is fully fit after nursing his injury and also spoke about the valuable addition of Bravo.

“Shannon Gabriel has been declared fully fit and as someone who was the spearhead of the attack before, he has returned to the 13-man squad. With Bravo, we have someone who is an experienced batsman and gives us a quality batting option,” chief selector Roger Harper said.

Winies Chief Selector Roger Harper
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Harper also stated that the team must bounce back from the defeat they suffered in the first Test. He especially asked his batsmen to come up with a better effort in the second Test.

“The team now has to play to the standard we know we’re capable of. We didn’t bat anywhere near to our potential in the first Betway Test and we have to improve with the bat in this upcoming match,” he added.

Darren Bravo
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

The Windies squad gets bolstered by the return of Darren Bravo. He did not play in the first Test where the Windies batting line-up faltered badly. It already has enough experience in the squad to script a comeback in the second Test and win it. Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Kemar Roach and skipper Kraigg Brathwaite are well aware of the fact that losing this Test match means losing the series.

West Indies and South Africa play a five-match T20I series starting from June 26 after the end of the second Test on June 22.

West Indies Squad For Second Test

West Indies squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood (vc), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales

Also Read: Rishabh Pant Should Be Allowed To Play His Natural Game Reckons Sourav Ganguly

Anshuman Roy

A Cricket And Sports Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.