Ajay Jadeja
Ajay Jadeja (Image Credits: Twitter)

Former Indian cricketer Ajay Jadeja expressed his readiness to coach the Pakistan cricket team, drawing parallels between the cricketing cultures of Pakistan and Afghanistan. Ajay Jadeja played a crucial role in Afghanistan’s success in the recently concluded World Cup.

Afghanistan registered only one win in two ODI World Cup campaigns but exceeded expectations in the recent tournament in India. The Afghan team secured four victories out of nine matches, including victories against England, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh.

The Hashmatullah Shahidi-led team had the opportunity to reach the semi-final stage for the first time but lost against Australia and South Africa in the last two matches. However, the team earned a spot in the Champions Trophy, finishing in sixth place in the table.

I Shared My Learnings With Afghans – Ajay Jadeja

In a conversation with Sports Tak, Ajay Jadeja was asked about taking on a coaching role with the Pakistan cricket team. Jadeja was appointed as the mentor of the Afghanistan team for the marquee tournament.

“I am ready. I shared my learnings with Afghans and I believe Pakistan were once like Afghanistan. You could say anything you wanted to in the face of your teammate,” Jadeja told Sports Tak.

Read More  Virat Kohli spotted in London, likely to return to action in IPL 2024

Pakistan Failed To Impress In World Cup 2023

Pakistan, led by Babar Azam, faced disappointment with a group stage exit and finishing fifth in the table. Babar Azam decided to step down as captain from all three formats, with Shan Masood taking over the Test captaincy and Shaheen Afridi becoming the T20I captain.

Pakistan will face the Pat Cummins-led team in the upcoming three-match Test series. It will provide a crucial opportunity for the team to recover from their disappointing World Cup performance. However, Pakistan has historically struggled in Tests in Australia.

Pakistan squad for Australia Tests: Shan Masood (c), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Also read: “There’s No Logic” – Ajay Jadeja Blasts Fan Who Compared Travis Head With Virender Sehwag

Saikrishna Vaitla is an author at Cricketaddictor has been working since September 2022.