Yusuf Pathan Signs With Maratha Arabian For The Upcoming Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021

Updated - 04 May 2024, 12:26 PM

Yusuf Pathan, IPL
Yusuf Pathan (Image Credit: IANS)

Maratha Arabians of the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021 have hit the jackpot as they signed former India all-rounder Yusuf Pathan for the upcoming season of the popular 10-over franchise tournament. The 2021 Abu Dhabi T10, the fifth season following cricket’s fastest format, will feature an increased number of 90-minute matches played over the planned 15 days, as opposed to 10 days in previous seasons.

Yusuf Pathan, who had called time on his India and IPL career earlier this year, represented India in 57 ODIs and 22 T20Is, amassed 810 and 236 runs respectively, while he also has 46 international wickets to his name. He was also part of India’s 2007 T20 World Cup win and the 2011 ICC World Cup win as well.

Yusuf Pathan was also quite a force in the Indian Premier League (IPL), being part of the Rajasthan Royals team which won the inaugural IPL tournament in 2008 under the captaincy of Shane Warne. He played 174 matches in IPL from 2008-2019 and made 3204 runs at a strike rate of 142.57 with one century and 13 half-centuries to his name.

Yusuf Pathan, India, T20 Cricket
Yusuf Pathan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Pathan played for Kolkata Knight Riders, winning the IPL 2012 and 2014 with them. He recently participated in the Road Safety World Series for India Legends alongside the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, and Virender Sehwag, after announcing his retirement.

Bigger And Better Abu Dhabi T10 Tournament Promised In UAE’s 50th Anniversary Year

Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman, TSM, the owner of the T10 League promised to present a bigger and better tournament this year as it is also the 50th anniversary year of the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman, TSM. Photo- Twitter
Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman, TSM. Photo- Twitter

“It is indeed a matter of pride that a journey that started in 2017 with just four teams has now reached a stage whereby the tournament has become an important part of the world’s cricketing calendar. It is most heartening to see the world’s top cricketers in this hugely popular format and upcoming cricketers seize the advantage of the platform to rub shoulders with the best in the business. In conjunction with ADC, we promise to conduct the tournament in this the UAE’s 50th anniversary year on an even larger scale and give our fans a truly befitting and exhilarating experience,” he said.

The Nicholas Pooran-led Northern Warriors defeated the Delhi Bulls in the final to lift the 2020 trophy. The upcoming edition gets underway from November 20.

Also Read: Who Is Deepak Chahar’s Girlfriend Jaya Bharadwaj? Details Revealed