Zimbabwe vs Afghanistan 2021: Zimbabwe Names Sean Williams To Lead His Team In The Test Series Against Afghanistan In The Absence Of Seniors

Zimbabwe vs Afghanistan 2021: Zimbabwe Names Sean Williams To Lead His Team In The Test Series Against Afghanistan In The Absence Of Seniors

Zimbabwe Cricket Team
Zimbabwe Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Zimbabwe cricket team is set to lock horns with Afghanistan in an upcoming Test and T20I Series. Zimbabwe will be touring UAE- Afghanistan’s home ground- in March 2021. In the absence of few senior players, Zimbabwe has announced the 15-man squad for the upcoming Test tour against the Asian side. Batting all-rounder Sean Williams has been selected to lead the Test team.

Many Zimbabwe cricketers are out of the tour due to various health concerns. Senior batsman Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine are not part of the squad due to which selectors have opted for Sean Williams to lead the team in the red-ball matches.

Chamu Chibhabha has been ruled out as he suffers from a thigh injury. Similarly, Tendai Chatara is going through right-upper-arm injury due to which he has not been able to make up for the series. Wicketkeeper-batsman PJ Moor will also be out of action due to hamstring injury.

Sean Williams
Sean Williams (Image Credits: Twitter)

Due to absence of above-mentioned senior players, selectors have rolled in few other players to the squad for the Afghanistan tour. Tarisai Musakanda, a top-order batsman, who last played a Test match against Sri Lanka in 2017, has been recalled.

Likewise, middle-order batsman and part-time spinner Ryan Burl has been recalled into the squad. Nurl has played just one Test against South Africa in December 2017.

Milton Shumba
Milton Shumba (Image Credits: Twitter)

For the T20I games, Zimbabwe cricket team will feature Milton Shumba, Faraz Akram and Tinashe Kamunhukamwe in the squad. Zimbabwe tour of Afghanistan consists of two Test matches and three T20Is. The first Test match will commence at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on March 2, followed by 2nd and3rd Test on the same venue on March 10 and March 17 respectively.

The three T20I games are scheduled to be played on March 17, 19 and 20. All the three matches will be played at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. Here is the full Zimbabwe squad for the Test series.

Zimbabwe last toured Pakistan in October-November 2020. Zimbabwe lost the three-match ODI series 2-1. In T20Is, Pakistan whitewashed Zimbabwe in all the three T20Is. On the other hand, Afghanistan hosted Ireland in a three-match ODI series. Afghanistan won all the three matches, which were held at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi (UAE) in January 2021.

Zimbabwe Test Squad:

Sean Williams (captain), Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza Butt, Prince Masvaure, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami, Blessing Muzarabani, Kevin Kasuza, Wesley Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Donald Tiripano, Regis Chakabva.