Former Indian opener-turned commentator Aakash Chopra has reckoned that Team India missed former Indian wicket-keeper MS Dhoni’s assertiveness behind the stumps during the final T20I against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground.
Chopra made the comment with respect to KL Rahul being slightly ‘non-committal’ in going for the review when T Natarajan trapped Aussie opener Matthew Wade right in front of the wickets.
The former opener pointed out that there was a mild appeal from the Indian side when Matthew Wade was hit on the pads.
”There was a leg-before issue. It was T Natarajan’s ball with Matthew Wade being hit on the pads. There was just a token appeal, it was more of an inquiry than an appeal.” Aakash Chopra said on his official Youtube channel.
Aakash Chopra observed that it was a big mistake on the part of both KL Rahul and T Natarajan as neither of them showed any confidence while going for the DRS.
Chopra added that Natarajan can be forgiven since he is new on the international circuit, he said that KL Rahul, who has now been around for 4-5 years, should have been more assertive.
“KL Rahul behind the stumps was also not convinced at all. Kohli is anyway not inside the circle often but out in the deep. So, he looked at both of them to tell him. But there was no commitment shown from either of them, both are a little non-committal which in my opinion is a faux pas.” Aakash Chopra said.
“The bowler should be a little more aware but he is a youngster or playing his first few matches. I had expectations from KL Rahul to be more confident and ask Kohli to take the review, which is where we missed Dhoni.” he added.
India eventually went for the review but by then the replay for the dismissal had already been displayed, forcing the umpire to nullify the call.
Aakash Chopra on Umpires denying India the review
Aakash Chopra also pointed out that the umpires were absolutely correct in denying India the review as the replay had already been shown on the big screen.
“But then the replay is shown on the big screen. So, when the replay is shown, Virat asks for the review but the umpires deny it because once it is shown on the big screen, you cannot take the review, which is technically and ethically absolutely correct.” Aakash Chopra said.
He, however, added that it was a grave mistake on the part of the host broadcaster if they had shown the replay before the 15-second timeframe.
“The big question was whether the replay was shown before 15 seconds. If that is the case, it was a huge error by the host broadcasters who were managing the big screen.”
It proved to be a huge moment in the game as Matthew Wade made full use of the opportunity and went on to post 80, paving way for Australia to post an eventual match-winning total of 186.