Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly has expressed his surprise over not seeing Shubman Gill and Ajinkya Rahane in the ODI squad for the upcoming tour of West Indies. India, on Sunday, had announced the squads for the upcoming T20Is, ODIs and Test match series against West Indies. Not many were impressed with the squads as they expressed their displeasure over the omission of Gill from the squad.

The highly-rated youngster is not only tipped to be a future star but is also in good form. In the five-match series against West Indies A, he scored three fifties. Overall. he scored 218 runs to help India A win the series by 4-1.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Ninth On Sports’ Instagram Rich List, Can Charge Up To 1.35 Crore Per Post

Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill (Credits: Getty)

Rahane, on the other hand, has fallen down the pecking order in ODIs. His last appearance in the 50-over format for India came in February 2018 during the tour of South Africa. Since then he has not even been considered despite India’s constant middle-order struggle. Since dropping Rahane, India tried out Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, KL Rahul and Vijay Shankar at number four but without much success.

Thus the treatment of Rahane has baffled many. The right-handed batsman was an integral part of the ODI team not very long ago and had impressed in the middle-order in 2015 World Cup. However, he is just not managing to win over the trust of the selectors.

And Sourav Ganguly was also surprised with the way the selectors ignored Gill and Rahane despite India’s middle-order woes in the World Cup. The legendary skipper took to Twitter to state his message, writing:

“There are many in the squad who can play all formats ..surprised not to see shubman gill ..Rahane in the one day squad..”

India kick-off their tour with three-match T20I series, with the first two being played in Florida on August 3 and 4, before shifting base to Guyana for the last game on August 6. The three ODIs will then follow from August 8, before the two-Test series begins from August 22.


Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk) Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.


Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini


Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini