Alex Carey To Lead Australia A Against India A In Final Tour Game Ahead Of Test Series

Alex Carey To Lead Australia A Against India A In Final Tour Game Ahead Of Test Series

Alex Carey, Ricky Ponting, IPL 2020
Alex Carey. Credit: Twitter

Cricket Australia have named a 12-man squad for the upcoming three-day tour game between Australia A and India A. The game is scheduled to start on December 11 and will be played with pink ball at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Wicketkeeper-batsman Alex Carey has been named the captain of the side.

The three-day fixture will be an opportunity for the players especially the Indian players to prepare for the pink-ball Adelaide Test which will kickstart the much-anticipated Border-Gavaskar Test series from December 17. India are gearing up for just their second pink-ball Test and first in Australia.

Alex Carey
Alex Carey will lead Australia A (Credit: Getty Images)

Both the teams have already played one tour game which ended in a draw on Tuesday. Travis Head had led Australia A while Ajinkya Rahane was leading the tourists. Joe Burns, who is the only fit specialist opener in Australia’s Test squad, has been named in the Australia A squad.

Incumbent David Warner is out of the first Test due to a groin injury while Will Pucovski had suffered mild signs of concussion after taking a hit on the helmet during the first tour game. The likes of Sean Abbott, Mitchell Swepson, Moises Henriques have been named in the squad too after recently playing in the T20I series.

Alex Carey To Lead Australia A Against India A In Final Tour Game Ahead Of Test Series
Mitchell Swepson. (Credits: Twitter)

As far as India are concerned, most of the Test specialists are likely to play the upcoming game. A few big names like Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mayank Agarwal missed the first tour game because of the T20I series. Kohli had said he will take a call on featuring in the practice game depending on how he holds up.

“I will wake up tomorrow and see if I can play the tour match. Playing it on and off is not my thing and I like to play the full game. I will talk to our physio and then decide on my participation,” Kohli had said after the third T20I.

Australia A squad:

Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Alex Carey (c, wk), Harry Conway, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson, Ben McDermott, Mark Steketee, Will Sutherland, Mitchell Swepson.

Also Read: KL Rahul, Washington Sundar Highest Ranked Indians In T20I Rankings While Rohit, Bumrah Slip

Also Read: Report: SLC Considering Withdrawing From Sri Lanka’s Tour Of South Africa Over Bio-Security Fears