Sri Lanka captain Angelo Matthews has been ruled out of the Nidahas Trophy due to a calf-injury during a training session. Matthews has been struggling with injuries for a long time now. He was earlier ruled out of the series against Bangladesh due to a hamstring injury.

Angelo Mathews,
Angelo Mathews has been ruled out of the Nidahas Trophy due to a calf injury. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Sri Lanka got back to winning ways during their tour of Bangladesh winning all the three trophies on tour.

The Bangladesh tour was the third-consecutive overseas tour Mathews has withdrawn from with a hamstring injury, having also done so last year in South Africa and India.

Angelo Mathews,
Angelo Mathews has been struggling with injuries in the past 12 months. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Matthews was hopeful of making it to the squad for the Nidahas trophy which involves Bangladesh and India.

The 30-year-old was undergoing rehabilitation in Colombo to get fit for the forthcoming series but sustained a calf injury during training which has now ruled him out of the competition.

Angelo Mathews,
Angelo Mathews was ruled out of Bangladesh tour with a hamstring injury. Photo Credit: AFP.

A source close to Sri Lanka Cricket said:

“Angelo has been putting in a lot of effort to make himself available for the Nidahas Trophy.

He has worked tremendously hard to be fit after being given a strenuous programme to follow. Unfortunately, during one of the training sessions, he ended up hurting his calf.

Four Sri Lankan players who were racing against time to be fit – Mathews, Nuwan Pradeep, Kusal Janith Perera and Dushmantha Chameera.

Angelo Mathews,
Angelo Matthews was appointed the captain of Sri Lanka’s limited overs side. Photo Credit: AFP.

The four players were told to play in the current domestic T20 competition to prove their fitness. While the other three did, Mathews wasn’t able to represent his team Colts CC.

Here’s the news feed:

Nidahas Trophy won’t lose its shine in the absence of star Team India players: Thilanga Sumathipala

Shakib Al Hasan to lead Bangladesh in Nidahas Trophy