APL 2018: Kabul Zwanan vs Paktia Panthers - Rashid Khan's Kabul set to take on Shahid Afridi-involved Paktia
Afghanistan Premier League to start today (credits - AFP)

Finally, the time for Afghanistan Premier League (APL 2018) arrives. The superstar of Afghanistan, Rashid Khan, will be leading his team, Kabul Zwanan to take on Shahid Afridi-involved Paktia Panthers in an electrifying atmosphere. However, both the sides have got their players to start the tournament on a positive note.

Meanwhile, Kabul had been pretty smart in grabbing the quality local talent. They got the likes of Rashid Khan and Hazratullah Zazai, who have the exceptional capability to take the game away from the opposition.

Adding to the list, they also acquired the services of Colin Ingram and Luke Ronchi, who are regarded widely as the specialist T20 players. All in all, they have grabbed quality people to start the campaign on a bright note.

Rashid Khan, Afghanistan Premier League 2018, APL 2018
Rashid Khan (Credits – AFP)

On the other hand, Paktia got three-in-one Mohammed Shahzad in their ranks. He will take the role of the opener in batting and also hands his services as the Captain-cum-Wicketkeeper.

Also, they got the stars like Shahid Afridi, Calum MacLeod, Cameron Delport, Sikandar Raza, Samiullah Shenwari in their ranks to face Rashid Khan. Paktia was also smart in picking their bowling department as well.

They went with proven performers in both sections of the game to be on the safe side. All in all, it is going to be a royal clash on Friday night at the Sharjah Cricket Association.

Shahid Afridi, Kabul vs Paktia, APL 2018
Shahid Afridi. Image Courtesy: Getty

Match Details of Kabul Zwanan vs Paktia Panther in APL 2018:

Date & Time: October 5th, 08:00 PM LOCAL

Venue: Sharjah Cricket Association, Sharjah

Weather: No rain is in the forecast. It would be a perfect climate to inaugurate a tournament.

Pitch Conditions: Sharjah has always given a sporting wicket. However, the batsman might get a little advantage.


Paktia Panthers: Mohammad Shahzad(w/c), Ihsanullah Janat, Shahid Afridi, Calum MacLeod, Cameron Delport, Sikandar Raza, Samiullah Shenwari, Isuru Udana, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Yamin Ahmadzai, Azmatullah, Rahmanullah, Yousuf Zazai, Zia-ur-Rehman, Fazal Rahman

Kabul Zwanan: Luke Ronchi(w), Colin Ingram, Wayne Parnell, Rashid Khan(c), Javed Ahmadi, Laurie Evans, Ali Khan, Hazratullah Zazai, Afsar Zazai, Fareed Ahmad, Shahidullah Kamal, Muslim Musa, Zamir Khan, Nijat Masood, Nasir Totakhil, Zahir Shehzad, Usman Adil, Fitratullah Khawari, Shawkat Zaman


I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!